Spooky Homemade Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I can't believe I just made marshmallows. These are sweet billowy clouds of puffy goodness! Unlike any store-bought marshmallow I've ever had, these tasted delicate and were softer. My kids think I'm a superstar! Be sure to grease the pan very well or the mixture will stick--this makes it more difficult to remove from the pan when they're dry enough. Since I made bones for Halloween, I dipped my cutter into the powdered sugar/Argo cornstarch mixture before making each cut, pressed down hard, and wiggled slightly to ensure it went all the way through. These are truly a delight--yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I thought these were neat to make. They were kind of fun too. I didn't have any major problems. I greased the pan with pan spray and wiped out the excess and had no sticking. I read the reviews and went heavy on the powdered sugar to make cutting easy also. I even spread some all over the top and continuously while cutting the marshmallow with cookie cutters or into square ones with a knife. Do also coat the cutters and knife well with the powdered sugar too. Before cutting, I cooled them on the counter for about 7-8 hours with plastic wrap over the top of the pan. I can't imagine doing this without a stand mixer. It made it super easy. A very reliable thermometer is also neccessary. With the right tools, it is nearly fool proof. I thought they tasted kind of like a bagged marshmallows, but so much better with the soft fluffy texture. To top, they were excellent in homemade cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Just right not to sweet!! Came out nice and fluffy and soft like yummy pillows!!! A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABass<3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Made 3 versions of this for Halloween. Purple-cherry, green-banana, and orange-coconut. Wanted to "Trick" people with this "Treat" by making the colors not match the flavors. I goofed the recipe once by trying to use flavored gelatin instead of unflavored - not a good idea. In the end I used flavored extracts for the flavors I wanted. Had to make 4 batches to get 3 good ones, but not the recipe's fault,just me trying to be a smartie pants, lol. This is a delicious recipe, but a little more complicated than it's worth. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This recipe is Madeline approved. My picky 4 year old Granddaughter thought they were better then the ones in the bag. My husband says they make the best S'mores ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Who knew marshmallows would be so easy to make? These are tasty and have a great texture. I cut them into pumpkin shapes. It took me a minute to figure out the best way to get the cut shapes out of the marshmallow sheet. I found that if I used a metal spatula to pry a section of the marshmallow up before cutting the shapes they just popped right out. And tons of powdered sugar on your cutters is a definite must. My kids think I'm Super Mom because I made homemade marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
These were delicious! And so much more delicate than store-bought marshmallows. The key to not losing your mind when cutting these is powdered sugar- lots and lots of powdered sugar. Before cutting the marshmallows, coat the whole block with powdered sugar. Before cutting, coat the knife with powdered sugar and reapply any time the knife starts to stick. Any extra sugar can easily be shaken off of the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Try these and you'll never buy marshmallows in a bag at the grocery store again. For several years, I've made homemade marshmallows from a different recipe. I tried this one, it is the winner. These marshmallows are fluffy and delicious. The texture and flavor are heavenly. I followed the instructions exactly as written, and I could not be more pleased with the result. Here are a few tips I've learned over the years: after buttering your pan, sprinkle lightly with powdered sugar. I turn out the entire pan of dried, uncut marshmallows onto cutting board dusted with powdered sugar. Then, I use a large pizza cutting wheel to cut the marshmallows into squares. The blade will need to be dusted often with powdered sugar. I use powdered sugar sparingly if I'll be dipping the cut marshmallows into melted chocolate. I have also used finely chopped toasted coconut as a coating instead of powdered sugar for an old-fashioned treat. One last tip, I use the wire whip beater on the Kitchen Aid stand mixer. I think that contributes to the fluffy, light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Pretty easy. Taste good, not sure if worth the work vs. just buying--they are definately creamier, and better but not sure if worth the work. But then I dipped in chocolate--YUM!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
You would have thought I would be such a pro at making various recipes...but this recipe honestly had me by the goat for quite some time. I've always been tempted to make homemade marshmallows but feared with over boiling(even with a candy therometer). I have to say, it was a rather funny mess with this recipe, that made me realize...what was I thinking being frighten by this recipe. Now, that I've experienced it...I will soo be making this again. Light and fluffy and really easy to do, so long as you prep and stage your recipe in the steps for proper marshmallow making. And even though I was a mess, the recipe was quite tasty and just really fabulous. Experimenting of the extracts in the future for all sorts of holiday plans are in order. TY I no longer fear this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Homemade Valentine’s Chocolates

Make decadent homemade chocolate candies for your Valentine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States