Spooky Homemade Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I can't believe I just made marshmallows. These are sweet billowy clouds of puffy goodness! Unlike any store-bought marshmallow I've ever had, these tasted delicate and were softer. My kids think I'm a superstar! Be sure to grease the pan very well or the mixture will stick--this makes it more difficult to remove from the pan when they're dry enough. Since I made bones for Halloween, I dipped my cutter into the powdered sugar/Argo cornstarch mixture before making each cut, pressed down hard, and wiggled slightly to ensure it went all the way through. These are truly a delight--yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I thought these were neat to make. They were kind of fun too. I didn't have any major problems. I greased the pan with pan spray and wiped out the excess and had no sticking. I read the reviews and went heavy on the powdered sugar to make cutting easy also. I even spread some all over the top and continuously while cutting the marshmallow with cookie cutters or into square ones with a knife. Do also coat the cutters and knife well with the powdered sugar too. Before cutting, I cooled them on the counter for about 7-8 hours with plastic wrap over the top of the pan. I can't imagine doing this without a stand mixer. It made it super easy. A very reliable thermometer is also neccessary. With the right tools, it is nearly fool proof. I thought they tasted kind of like a bagged marshmallows, but so much better with the soft fluffy texture. To top, they were excellent in homemade cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Just right not to sweet!! Came out nice and fluffy and soft like yummy pillows!!! A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABass<3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Made 3 versions of this for Halloween. Purple-cherry, green-banana, and orange-coconut. Wanted to "Trick" people with this "Treat" by making the colors not match the flavors. I goofed the recipe once by trying to use flavored gelatin instead of unflavored - not a good idea. In the end I used flavored extracts for the flavors I wanted. Had to make 4 batches to get 3 good ones, but not the recipe's fault,just me trying to be a smartie pants, lol. This is a delicious recipe, but a little more complicated than it's worth. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This recipe is Madeline approved. My picky 4 year old Granddaughter thought they were better then the ones in the bag. My husband says they make the best S'mores ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Who knew marshmallows would be so easy to make? These are tasty and have a great texture. I cut them into pumpkin shapes. It took me a minute to figure out the best way to get the cut shapes out of the marshmallow sheet. I found that if I used a metal spatula to pry a section of the marshmallow up before cutting the shapes they just popped right out. And tons of powdered sugar on your cutters is a definite must. My kids think I'm Super Mom because I made homemade marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
You would have thought I would be such a pro at making various recipes...but this recipe honestly had me by the goat for quite some time. I've always been tempted to make homemade marshmallows but feared with over boiling(even with a candy therometer). I have to say, it was a rather funny mess with this recipe, that made me realize...what was I thinking being frighten by this recipe. Now, that I've experienced it...I will soo be making this again. Light and fluffy and really easy to do, so long as you prep and stage your recipe in the steps for proper marshmallow making. And even though I was a mess, the recipe was quite tasty and just really fabulous. Experimenting of the extracts in the future for all sorts of holiday plans are in order. TY I no longer fear this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I don't care for marshmallows, so my review is based on my kids' reactions. In the morning, when I first told them I was making marshmallows that day, they didn't believe me. Then, when I presented them with the finished product floating in a cup of hot cocoa that evening, they said I was the awesome-est cook around. That compliment alone warrants giving this recipe five stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I was intimidated by homemade marshmallows for years, not anymore. These are perfect and not overly sweet. I can't wait to make them in peppermint flavor to give out at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
These were so good they did not last long around this house. Will be making these again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Homemade Valentine’s Chocolates

Make decadent homemade chocolate candies for your Valentine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States