Spooky Homemade Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Just right not to sweet!! Came out nice and fluffy and soft like yummy pillows!!! A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABass<3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
These were delicious! And so much more delicate than store-bought marshmallows. The key to not losing your mind when cutting these is powdered sugar- lots and lots of powdered sugar. Before cutting the marshmallows, coat the whole block with powdered sugar. Before cutting, coat the knife with powdered sugar and reapply any time the knife starts to stick. Any extra sugar can easily be shaken off of the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I can't believe I just made marshmallows. These are sweet billowy clouds of puffy goodness! Unlike any store-bought marshmallow I've ever had, these tasted delicate and were softer. My kids think I'm a superstar! Be sure to grease the pan very well or the mixture will stick--this makes it more difficult to remove from the pan when they're dry enough. Since I made bones for Halloween, I dipped my cutter into the powdered sugar/Argo cornstarch mixture before making each cut, pressed down hard, and wiggled slightly to ensure it went all the way through. These are truly a delight--yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Made these tonight to see how they differ from my usual homemade marshmallow recipe. While these have good texture and flavor, I prefer my other recipe. It uses the same ingredients with different ratios. It's not as sticky and pours better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I thought these were neat to make. They were kind of fun too. I didn't have any major problems. I greased the pan with pan spray and wiped out the excess and had no sticking. I read the reviews and went heavy on the powdered sugar to make cutting easy also. I even spread some all over the top and continuously while cutting the marshmallow with cookie cutters or into square ones with a knife. Do also coat the cutters and knife well with the powdered sugar too. Before cutting, I cooled them on the counter for about 7-8 hours with plastic wrap over the top of the pan. I can't imagine doing this without a stand mixer. It made it super easy. A very reliable thermometer is also neccessary. With the right tools, it is nearly fool proof. I thought they tasted kind of like a bagged marshmallows, but so much better with the soft fluffy texture. To top, they were excellent in homemade cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
These are very very tasty, but I didn't have a strong stand mixer.. just a cheapie stand mixer. I couldn't get this to 8 minutes of beating time without my mixer exploding.. so unless you have something powerful like a kitchen Aid - this may not be a good idea. I got some cute Halloween ice cube molds and though these would be neat in them. Problem - pain in the behind getting the marshmallow fluff in the holes and then later, getting the formed things OUT without mangling them. I put some on a loaf pan and those were easy, so don't use molds unless you feel like making a HUGE mess! I am not marking these recipe down because these were my issues, not the recipes...I won't ever make marshmallows again. at least not until I can afford a KA and then NOT in molds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I loved trying to make my own marshmallows! They are delicious--much better than store-bought! The only thing I didn't like was the mess I had from making it. I must admit that I made only half a batch, so my Kitchen Aid didn't do a very good job of mixing it up, so I'd recommend making the full batch. I wouldn't be at all surprised if I end up making these again at Christmas time for my granddaughters' hot chocolate! I'm glad I tried these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
These were so good they did not last long around this house. Will be making these again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Who knew marshmallows would be so easy to make? These are tasty and have a great texture. I cut them into pumpkin shapes. It took me a minute to figure out the best way to get the cut shapes out of the marshmallow sheet. I found that if I used a metal spatula to pry a section of the marshmallow up before cutting the shapes they just popped right out. And tons of powdered sugar on your cutters is a definite must. My kids think I'm Super Mom because I made homemade marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Made 3 versions of this for Halloween. Purple-cherry, green-banana, and orange-coconut. Wanted to "Trick" people with this "Treat" by making the colors not match the flavors. I goofed the recipe once by trying to use flavored gelatin instead of unflavored - not a good idea. In the end I used flavored extracts for the flavors I wanted. Had to make 4 batches to get 3 good ones, but not the recipe's fault,just me trying to be a smartie pants, lol. This is a delicious recipe, but a little more complicated than it's worth. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Homemade Valentine’s Chocolates

Make decadent homemade chocolate candies for your Valentine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States