Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Okay, I just made these to top the Halloween cupcakes and here are my recommendations: 1) After you shape the balls, put a toothpick in them and then place them in the freezer for about 30 minutes or so. 2) Don't bother adding the shortening to the white chocolate. I zapped a bag of white choc. chips in the microwave for 30 seconds...stirred...30 more seconds...really stirred and it melted beautifully (do have to stir for a while to completely melt the choc). 3) Dip the frozen PB balls in the white chocolate and gently push it off of the toothpick (push it up off the toothpick), after you set it down the choc will still "ooze" over where your fingers were. 4) I didn't bother with the red squiggles as it looked too time consuming. All in all it looks great!! The boys really like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These were a hoot to make. I found the peanut butter mixture quite soft to work with, and instead of refrigerating the eyeballs for 30 minutes before dipping, I put them in the freezer. It helped, but they softened fast. Broke toothpick in half to have a bigger "drawing" surface for the red food color. Oh, and they taste great--very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
amazing! well worth the time they took ... i impressed myself! thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I dipped them in dark chocolate and they were good, but the chocolate was kind of thick...maybe the crisco thins it a little? I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
if you are extremely short on time, you can put peanut butter between vanilla wafers and dip in the white chocolate, then decorate the same, even less time? just one wafer plain in the white! have had no complaints on either of those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lesel
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These were delicious. I made them with natural peanut butter - it is thicker, so I did not have issues with them being too soft. Also left out the shortening, wasn't necessary for the chocolate glaze. I shaped them into little ghosts instead of eyes. Mini chips for eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These came out soooooo cute. My daughter had a half day of school today, so I made all of the peanut butter balls and just put them in the fridge for a couple of hours, then we did the fun stuff. Be sure to place your mini-chips in as soon as you do the retinas, the white chocolate seemed to set up pretty fast. They do, indeed, taste like peanut butter cups. I already have plans for Christmas, just subbing semi-sweet for white chocolate, and sprinkling with festive decorator sprinkles. Thanks for a great tasting, fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is a really easy recipe! And always a favorite on any party that I give. At other times change from white to chocolate and u have Buckeyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rochester, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
First and foremost- DON'T SKIMP ON THE SUGAR!!! Gahh the peanut butter was a nightmare. I kept having to take it in and out and in and out of the freezer. About 2/3 way done I kinda gave up and switched to semi-sweet chocolate, didn't have to worry 'bout the pb showing through or staying behind. I ended up storing them overnight in the fridge and the next morning I realized, hey, I need more white choc. for the iris. Super. Good thing I didn't use all my squares yesterday!! I found that the bigger the iris, the better. The small just looked sad. The red veins really completed the look, although I wish I'd had used a mini brush rather than a toothpick. Overall though, they looked so cool!!! I really wish I could have taken a pic..makes me sad. This was quite the time-consuming project and I don't know if I have it in me to make again. I do give it 5 stars though because the idea is so novel I hope others will give it a go and hopefully like 'em. I especially recommend it for those experienced with melting chocolate an ddecoration. ~not me, clearly. Thanks for putting up the recipe though!! p.s. upon arrival at the party where they were intended for, some had cracked their chocolate, pb sticking out. Same with the buckeyes [[choc.]]. I think it's cause the mixture was too soft..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
These are SO fun to make. And really great for a project to do with your school aged kid. Any "ball" candy will work in this recipe, even Oreo Truffles or Cake Balls. If you plan on making these to take to school and cannot bring anything with peanut butter, you can also do this with Oreo cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States