Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
IT IS VERY GOOD TO EAT AND I REALLY LIKE THIS RECIPE VERY MUCH EVERYONE SHOULD TRY THIS RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Presque Isle, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is a really easy recipe! And always a favorite on any party that I give. At other times change from white to chocolate and u have Buckeyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rochester, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
These are SO fun to make. And really great for a project to do with your school aged kid. Any "ball" candy will work in this recipe, even Oreo Truffles or Cake Balls. If you plan on making these to take to school and cannot bring anything with peanut butter, you can also do this with Oreo cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
First and foremost- DON'T SKIMP ON THE SUGAR!!! Gahh the peanut butter was a nightmare. I kept having to take it in and out and in and out of the freezer. About 2/3 way done I kinda gave up and switched to semi-sweet chocolate, didn't have to worry 'bout the pb showing through or staying behind. I ended up storing them overnight in the fridge and the next morning I realized, hey, I need more white choc. for the iris. Super. Good thing I didn't use all my squares yesterday!! I found that the bigger the iris, the better. The small just looked sad. The red veins really completed the look, although I wish I'd had used a mini brush rather than a toothpick. Overall though, they looked so cool!!! I really wish I could have taken a pic..makes me sad. This was quite the time-consuming project and I don't know if I have it in me to make again. I do give it 5 stars though because the idea is so novel I hope others will give it a go and hopefully like 'em. I especially recommend it for those experienced with melting chocolate an ddecoration. ~not me, clearly. Thanks for putting up the recipe though!! p.s. upon arrival at the party where they were intended for, some had cracked their chocolate, pb sticking out. Same with the buckeyes [[choc.]]. I think it's cause the mixture was too soft..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These were a hoot to make. I found the peanut butter mixture quite soft to work with, and instead of refrigerating the eyeballs for 30 minutes before dipping, I put them in the freezer. It helped, but they softened fast. Broke toothpick in half to have a bigger "drawing" surface for the red food color. Oh, and they taste great--very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Okay, I just made these to top the Halloween cupcakes and here are my recommendations: 1) After you shape the balls, put a toothpick in them and then place them in the freezer for about 30 minutes or so. 2) Don't bother adding the shortening to the white chocolate. I zapped a bag of white choc. chips in the microwave for 30 seconds...stirred...30 more seconds...really stirred and it melted beautifully (do have to stir for a while to completely melt the choc). 3) Dip the frozen PB balls in the white chocolate and gently push it off of the toothpick (push it up off the toothpick), after you set it down the choc will still "ooze" over where your fingers were. 4) I didn't bother with the red squiggles as it looked too time consuming. All in all it looks great!! The boys really like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
amazing! well worth the time they took ... i impressed myself! thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I was not so pleased with the outcome of this however, taste is still great. This is time consuming project so I did it in steps: I made the peanut butter mixture 1st night, rolled the balls the next night and the 3rd night I dipped them. I was doing pretty good till I got to the decorating part. Blood shot look: Tried toothpick didn't work (hardly saw the red), then I tried the food coloring pen (waste of money) and then I tried an tiny brush and loved the results. Next night I went to put the blue centers on with the chip and guess what? The red food coloring didn't dry I had to pat the eyeball to remove some of the coloring. Now I'm concerned because if they sweat the red food coloring is going to come off on peoples finger....UGH!!!! So if any one can help let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirlJLR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Made these for a halloween dessert contest at work and I won! They are not hard to make but take a lot of time from start to finish. I agree with other posters to putting them in the freezer prior to dipping them in the chocolate. Thanks for the winning idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
There are several shortcuts I took from other sources. Stick the balls on plastic forks, easier to work with, stand them in coffee mugs and refrigerate. I have trouble with chocolate melting so I used a can of ready made frosting in the can and melted it in the microwave for 25 seconds, took the fork and dipped it into the frosting can. Eyballs were gummy lifesavers with a dark chocolate chip stuck in with frosting. Red veins were made with red readymade frosting in the tube. For the kids I used donut holes instead. fast and easy. they made and ate them at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States