Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
they tasted good but my eyeballs were coming out all wonky so i just colored some of the white chocolate orange and purple and drizzled it over the coated pb balls for more halloweeny kinda feel. they were a hit at the party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was very goopy and not a winner with my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I did some of these with milk chocolate, and they tasted just like reeses! loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
These were so fun! ONE complaint... they don't have any texture. The peanut butter is really good, but is very rich, and the creaminess combined with the sweetness makes it hard to eat an entire one (which might be a good thing for me ha!) They are much more "eatable" when you add something like rice krispie cereal to the peanut butter mix to add some crunch, or perhaps crushed peanuts (though I didn't try that... it just sounds good as I'm typing this!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
First off, I love this idea. Very creative. I did not make eyeballs though - I made mini pb cups. The only reason I tried this recipe is because I saw some reviews say they taste exactly like the store bought PB cups and boy, they were right! I almost couldn't believe it. Since I ran out of chocolate along the way I just stuck the rest in a lined pan and stuck it in the freezer to cut into squares later on. Delicious, but the mixture sure does soften quickly after it exits a cold environment. Either way, I enjoyed these. Made the cups to make some cookies and they turned out fabulous. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These were awsome! They do require alot of time and patience to make but the final product is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I will say that I completely messed up the recipe. I misread the amount of powdered sugar that was supposed to go in. Even so these tasted really good. Like a Reese's. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was a disappointing recipe for me. It all went well until I started dipping. I used the microwave to get the chips to melt but found that it was cooling to fast. I don't have a double boiler (try to find on now days!) so I got out a pan and glass bowl that was going OK but then it hardened up again. All said and done I got 50 quarter sized balls out of the mix (17-18 grams each) but only got about 2/3 dipped and none got decorated with the iris. I didn't take them to the party I went too but took them to our monthly potluck at the beach yesterday. They did taste gook and a lot of them got eaten. I can see making them again ONLY if I can ever find a double boiler. Guess I'll have to start going to the thrift shops once in a while. It is hard to give this a fare rating as most of the problem is from a cook that is inexperienced with making candy. I'm giving it 4 starts for taste and originality but they were a pain to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
LOVED the filling ~ tasted like Reese's Peanut Butter Cups' pb filling!! I happened to have blue fondant for the iris , red fondant for the arteries, & black gel (store-bought tube) for the pupil. Instead of white chocolate, I used the Wilton's Candy Melts, but it did not go on smoothly. Maybe the recipe's white chocolate with veg. shortening will??So I only dipped & decorated 6 of the 44-48 1 Tablespoon-sized balls. The rest I served as PB Balls & they were happily eaten at a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
These remind me so much of my favorite peanut butter ball recipe, which is the same except that it calls for semi-sweet chocolate instead of white chocolate. The recipe is time consuming, but worth every minute! I took these to a halloween party, and received rave reviews, not only for the presentation, but for how delicious they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States