Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I just made these for an office Halloween party - words of advice. The peanut butter mixture is REALLY soft - be generous with the powdered sugar. Refrigerate overnight; I refrigerated for between 4-5 hours and had a sticky mess. When making the balls, use more powdered sugar to keep the stickyness down. I melted the almond bark on the stove (after killing two batches in the microwave - stirred every 30 seconds and still burnt it). Let the melted mess cool a little - otherwise you will start to melt the peanut butter mixture. I got tired of dipping and just spooned the mixture over the peanut butter mix, we actually liked how chocolate 'spread out' at the bottom making them look gooey. Making the iris and the food coloring on the toothpick was the easiest part of these and everyone LOVED them. I have to make another batch for a kids party this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These were awsome...I didn't have chocolate chips so eliminated them..but they were still a big hit with the kids and the taste---yummy!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I made these for a Halloween bake sale and they were the 'stars' of the event! They sold out immediately! I was actually surprised at how gooooood they were! A little time consuming but the end product is worth it and maybe the next time I'll be quicker putting on those veins with a toothpick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimmadsen3
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This recipe was VERY time consuming! I had added rice crispy cereal to the peanut butter mixture and I was happy I did. It gave it some texture. I also learned that it was best to dip the balls in small batches because the peanut butter balls would soften and then wouldn't dip well. Letting them sit over night in the fridge also really helped when dipping. Everyone LOVED the taste, my only complaint is it took a LONG time to make! Allow more than 3 hours to make this treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmadsen3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
For a simple version......mini powdered doughnuts do the trick ;) place a green m&m in the center and use a tube of black gel icing for the pupil in the center of the m&m. use red gel tube icing for the squiggly "bloodshot" effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandaron1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
these were so fun to make and give to the kids. i ground up 5 digestive biscuits and put them in the peanut butter to make it a little dryer and to cut the richness of the peanut butter. these are time consuming but something seasonal so definitely will do these every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I was not impressed with this recipe. Even after freezing for over an hour, the peanut butter dough was consistently sticky and nearly impossible to form into round eyeballs by hand. Perhaps a small dough scooper would be better or freezing overnight to solidify the mix. Ultimately, I got very frustrated and had to throw out the entire batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
These are so cute. They do take a long time to make but I found for the iris and blood shot veins it worked really well to put some colored white chocolate in a ziplock bag and cut just the very tip off. This made making the iris/veins simple and quick. Just a hint for anyone who wants to save time because I agree with others that you NEED to have the blood shot veins to make them look right. Thanks for the great recipe for my Halloween party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Love the recipie hate the process!! to beggin with the prep time is deffinetly not 20min! Second of all the mixture was way too soft to work with! I had to sick it in the refrigerater for alot longer than 30min. the chocolate dippin had to bee done 2 to 3times on some! this recipe needs improvement! I pretty much made my own. Not happy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Minot Afb, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
These are so fun! The kids love them. I only gave them four stars becuase they were a bit difficult to make. I took several suggestions from different reviewers. I used natural peanutbutter, froze the truffles before coating them with chocolate and used toothpicks in each truffle before freezing to use as a little handle to dip with. It was still rather tricky. But, they turned out super creepy and look terrific. I will probably go through the trouble again next year and get more practice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNFIRE71
Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States