Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I am making these right now and thought I would take a break to write my review. First of all, I didn't have a problem rolling my peanut butter mixture into balls that others had. I did leave in the fridge for about 4 hours though. Secondly, this is NOT enough white chocolate. I have 5 balls that didn't get any. I melted my chocoate over a double boiler instead of the microwave. I'm not sure it helped any, but I didn't have any problems with burning. Also, I found it is essential to put toothpicks into the balls, freeze for about 45 min. and then dip. You can leave a little bit uncovered by the toothpick, as this is where the iris will go. I took toothpicks out before I did the iris and just did with my finger. I put the choc chips upside down after I placed the iris on. I then drug a wooden toothpick dipped in red food coloring, for the bloodshot effect. OVERALL, this was a very tedious undertaking. I was exremely frustrated at first, but after doing the above, it got better. I would possibly make these again but only to share with VERY special people on VERY special occasions. * I am updating my review because I had not tasted these. I just thought they were super sweet and I could hardly eat one (I am a sugar addict!). SO, I just took away a star because not only were these a pain to make, but I didn't find myself wanting to eat them. Neither did anyone else in my house and a lot of these got thrown away. :-( But they are super cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
THis is very neat...however, i will not be making these again simply becasue it is very time consuming. I had a hard time with the chocolate melting right, but i finally figured it out. they look great, not sure how they taste. i personally dont like peanut butter but i made them for a halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made these for our high school girls volleyball end of season party. Originally I was afraid that the high school kids would find them too juvenile but I need not have worried. They were the hit of the dinner. As always I tried the recipe as originally written first and had no problems. The peanut butter truffle set up well and after awhile in the fridge was easy to work with. I did melt my chocolate in a double boiler. It adhered easily to the cool truffle and I only had to dip each ball once. Decorating is time consuming but well worth it. my only regret is that I didn't double the batch because they ran out so soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very delicious, fun, and easy to make. Kids and co-workers had a blast with them. Thinking about making ornaments for Christmas! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was a really fun holiday recipe! I took advice from other reviews to add something to the peanut butter, and I chose to break up a package of honey graham crackers, and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chocaholic Oz
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very awesome! Taste like a Buckeye with white chocolate. Make sure you get the peanut butter mix hard enough to mold. Super messy, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I found that the dough was too soft for shaping. In order to make them easier to handle, I added 1-2 cups finely ground graham cracker crumbs to the mixture. Not only did this improve the texture but it also more closely tracked the taste of store-bought peanut butter cup filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I probably won't do this again. You need more than 12 oz of chocolate. I agree with the previous reviews that said to add rice krispies. The texture is too soft and too sweet. Tedious & time consuming for a not that spectacular product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Frisiello
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
These looked so cool, we had to make them. We have a non-peanut butter fan here, so we made rice crispy treat balls, (easier to mold when cooled a bit), and used a blue candy wafer, and a dot of black gel for the centers. We swirled in red food coloring to the leftover white chips and it was easily applied with a toothpick, they are a delicious hit we will be making for our Halloween party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Frisiello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Very cool addition to my party food, everyone got a big kick out of these! I used vegetable oil instead of shortening, but just because I didn't have any shortening on hand, and that worked out fine. Also, instead of waiting for them to harden and adding a mini choc. chip, I pressed a regular size choc. chip into the tops of the 'eyballs' as the white choc. was drying. (Pointy tip down so just the flat bottom showed) They stayed in place and came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States