Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Milky
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I followed some advices from other users: I added some rice krispies to peanut butter and I didn't use shortening to melt chocolate. In addition I didn't deep the balls into melted chocolate but I put each ball on a fork and keeping it over the bowl I pour the chocolate with a spoon and then I pushed the ball off the fork on wax paper, certainly this method takes more time but is a cleaner way to cover the "eyes" with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These are wonderful! I made this for Halloween and they were a big hit. I did use a half cup less powdered sugar because I didn't want them to be over-the-top sweet. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These were really easy to make & turned out great! Were also very tasty........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sundance, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
ok...so very time consuming but such a hit at the Halloween party. I did add the rice crispies for a little crunch and it held together great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by devonlynn1
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Super fun idea but a pain in the behind to make. Worth it if you have the time. I added the rice crispies as advised. Do that for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made these for my kids Halloween party at school. Everyone loved them. Thanks I will definitely make again next year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beechgrove, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Great tasting eyeballs! Unfortunately they are very time consuming (which was a given) and a bit of a pain, but in the end when all was said and done the family enjoyed them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
These look great but are a true pain to make. The peanut butter mixture is so soft that it is difficult. There is a recipe in here for Peanut Butter Easter Eggs that calls for 1 cup Peanut Butter, 1 16oz pkg XXX sugar, 1/4 cup butter and 1 tbsp milk that was really easy to work with. I will use that next time for my insides. I also could not figure out how to make the iris. I think it wanted me to dip my eye in the white chocolate with the food coloring in it, but that didn't turn out very good. So I ended up painting the eye on. I used melted chocolate as the pupil and food coloring as my paint. I have three small paint brushes that were perfect. They turned out really cute. They were a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Time-consuming but fabulous taste and look. My finished product is in the fridge for the last of the setting before I take it down to my son and his friends on Halloween eve. Definitely do use natural peanut butter - I had no issue with stickiness and the balls shaped perfectly. I used a toothpick to dip the eyeballs into the chocolate and then slipped it off before starting the next. I used a small paintbrush to paint irises and bloodshot veins. I melted chocolate in a dish over a pot over boiling water and did not need the shortening. I had no problems with this recipe - thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These are so much fun to make. We make Buckeyes for X-mas, but these are the best for Halloween!! I used white almond bark to dip them in and it set up nice and firm. I also added 1 cup of rice krispies just to give them that extra something. I bet this will be a family tradition from now on. Thanx for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raevynsfire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States