Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made these for my kids Halloween party at school. Everyone loved them. Thanks I will definitely make again next year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beechgrove, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Great tasting eyeballs! Unfortunately they are very time consuming (which was a given) and a bit of a pain, but in the end when all was said and done the family enjoyed them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
These look great but are a true pain to make. The peanut butter mixture is so soft that it is difficult. There is a recipe in here for Peanut Butter Easter Eggs that calls for 1 cup Peanut Butter, 1 16oz pkg XXX sugar, 1/4 cup butter and 1 tbsp milk that was really easy to work with. I will use that next time for my insides. I also could not figure out how to make the iris. I think it wanted me to dip my eye in the white chocolate with the food coloring in it, but that didn't turn out very good. So I ended up painting the eye on. I used melted chocolate as the pupil and food coloring as my paint. I have three small paint brushes that were perfect. They turned out really cute. They were a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Time-consuming but fabulous taste and look. My finished product is in the fridge for the last of the setting before I take it down to my son and his friends on Halloween eve. Definitely do use natural peanut butter - I had no issue with stickiness and the balls shaped perfectly. I used a toothpick to dip the eyeballs into the chocolate and then slipped it off before starting the next. I used a small paintbrush to paint irises and bloodshot veins. I melted chocolate in a dish over a pot over boiling water and did not need the shortening. I had no problems with this recipe - thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These are so much fun to make. We make Buckeyes for X-mas, but these are the best for Halloween!! I used white almond bark to dip them in and it set up nice and firm. I also added 1 cup of rice krispies just to give them that extra something. I bet this will be a family tradition from now on. Thanx for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raevynsfire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I am making these right now and thought I would take a break to write my review. First of all, I didn't have a problem rolling my peanut butter mixture into balls that others had. I did leave in the fridge for about 4 hours though. Secondly, this is NOT enough white chocolate. I have 5 balls that didn't get any. I melted my chocoate over a double boiler instead of the microwave. I'm not sure it helped any, but I didn't have any problems with burning. Also, I found it is essential to put toothpicks into the balls, freeze for about 45 min. and then dip. You can leave a little bit uncovered by the toothpick, as this is where the iris will go. I took toothpicks out before I did the iris and just did with my finger. I put the choc chips upside down after I placed the iris on. I then drug a wooden toothpick dipped in red food coloring, for the bloodshot effect. OVERALL, this was a very tedious undertaking. I was exremely frustrated at first, but after doing the above, it got better. I would possibly make these again but only to share with VERY special people on VERY special occasions. * I am updating my review because I had not tasted these. I just thought they were super sweet and I could hardly eat one (I am a sugar addict!). SO, I just took away a star because not only were these a pain to make, but I didn't find myself wanting to eat them. Neither did anyone else in my house and a lot of these got thrown away. :-( But they are super cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
THis is very neat...however, i will not be making these again simply becasue it is very time consuming. I had a hard time with the chocolate melting right, but i finally figured it out. they look great, not sure how they taste. i personally dont like peanut butter but i made them for a halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made these for our high school girls volleyball end of season party. Originally I was afraid that the high school kids would find them too juvenile but I need not have worried. They were the hit of the dinner. As always I tried the recipe as originally written first and had no problems. The peanut butter truffle set up well and after awhile in the fridge was easy to work with. I did melt my chocolate in a double boiler. It adhered easily to the cool truffle and I only had to dip each ball once. Decorating is time consuming but well worth it. my only regret is that I didn't double the batch because they ran out so soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very delicious, fun, and easy to make. Kids and co-workers had a blast with them. Thinking about making ornaments for Christmas! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was a really fun holiday recipe! I took advice from other reviews to add something to the peanut butter, and I chose to break up a package of honey graham crackers, and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States