Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Milky
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I followed some advices from other users: I added some rice krispies to peanut butter and I didn't use shortening to melt chocolate. In addition I didn't deep the balls into melted chocolate but I put each ball on a fork and keeping it over the bowl I pour the chocolate with a spoon and then I pushed the ball off the fork on wax paper, certainly this method takes more time but is a cleaner way to cover the "eyes" with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These are wonderful! I made this for Halloween and they were a big hit. I did use a half cup less powdered sugar because I didn't want them to be over-the-top sweet. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These were really easy to make & turned out great! Were also very tasty........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sundance, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
ok...so very time consuming but such a hit at the Halloween party. I did add the rice crispies for a little crunch and it held together great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by devonlynn1
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Super fun idea but a pain in the behind to make. Worth it if you have the time. I added the rice crispies as advised. Do that for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made these for my kids Halloween party at school. Everyone loved them. Thanks I will definitely make again next year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beechgrove, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Great tasting eyeballs! Unfortunately they are very time consuming (which was a given) and a bit of a pain, but in the end when all was said and done the family enjoyed them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
These look great but are a true pain to make. The peanut butter mixture is so soft that it is difficult. There is a recipe in here for Peanut Butter Easter Eggs that calls for 1 cup Peanut Butter, 1 16oz pkg XXX sugar, 1/4 cup butter and 1 tbsp milk that was really easy to work with. I will use that next time for my insides. I also could not figure out how to make the iris. I think it wanted me to dip my eye in the white chocolate with the food coloring in it, but that didn't turn out very good. So I ended up painting the eye on. I used melted chocolate as the pupil and food coloring as my paint. I have three small paint brushes that were perfect. They turned out really cute. They were a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Time-consuming but fabulous taste and look. My finished product is in the fridge for the last of the setting before I take it down to my son and his friends on Halloween eve. Definitely do use natural peanut butter - I had no issue with stickiness and the balls shaped perfectly. I used a toothpick to dip the eyeballs into the chocolate and then slipped it off before starting the next. I used a small paintbrush to paint irises and bloodshot veins. I melted chocolate in a dish over a pot over boiling water and did not need the shortening. I had no problems with this recipe - thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These are so much fun to make. We make Buckeyes for X-mas, but these are the best for Halloween!! I used white almond bark to dip them in and it set up nice and firm. I also added 1 cup of rice krispies just to give them that extra something. I bet this will be a family tradition from now on. Thanx for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raevynsfire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States