Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were great. I made them for my son's class. I didn't change a thing and they came out wonderful. It's a little time consuming to do the red bloodshot look, but well worth it. I would probably use melted chocolate for the pupil instead of a chocolate chip next time. The chocolate chip didnt' sit like I had hoped it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Cloverdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
My kids and niece had such fun making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Shuunk
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I LOVED this recipe! I pieced together quite a few helpful tips from other reviewers and I thank them for the success of these, I can see how making them as written would be very frustrating! Firstly, I recommend making the "dough", refrigerating it over night and rolling into balls the next day. They form easily this way and you don't have to worry about them being too greasy or mushy. Poke toothpicks in each ball and stick in the freezer for at least a half an hour. I didn't use any shortening in my white choc mixture and it turned out fine, although I found I ran out of white choc with about 5 eyeballs left, so you may need a bit more. Dips into the white choc while holding the tooth pick, allow to dry a few seconds before pushing the ball off of the end. You may leave a fingerprint or a blemish, but you can cover it up when you create the pupil. I used decorating icing for the pupils as well as the veins. They looked great, tasted exactly like a Reeses peanut butter cup. Will definitely make these again! =) Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Shuunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Made these for my kids Halloween party!! They were a hit. I had guest coming back to the next day for leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
We made these for Halloween. Careful melting the chocolate and do not add any liquid at all for any reason. Mistakes I made....my chocolate got too hot and I thought I would add milk to smooth it out. BIG mistake. I learned later that chocolate will seize if you add a drop of liquid. Melt it slow!! Once it is overheated you can not save it. I ended up using milk chocolate after ruining the white. We made chocolate monster eyes, dipping the PB balls partially into the chocolate leaving a peanut butter circle. Then we put a chocolate chip in the center of the peanut butter "eye" for the pupil. Was a good save for an already great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Milky
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I followed some advices from other users: I added some rice krispies to peanut butter and I didn't use shortening to melt chocolate. In addition I didn't deep the balls into melted chocolate but I put each ball on a fork and keeping it over the bowl I pour the chocolate with a spoon and then I pushed the ball off the fork on wax paper, certainly this method takes more time but is a cleaner way to cover the "eyes" with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These are wonderful! I made this for Halloween and they were a big hit. I did use a half cup less powdered sugar because I didn't want them to be over-the-top sweet. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These were really easy to make & turned out great! Were also very tasty........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sundance, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
ok...so very time consuming but such a hit at the Halloween party. I did add the rice crispies for a little crunch and it held together great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by devonlynn1
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Super fun idea but a pain in the behind to make. Worth it if you have the time. I added the rice crispies as advised. Do that for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States