Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
OMG, I will never make these again! LOL! I made the balls, froze the balls & they still were too sticky to make into balls, it was a total nightmare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were OK. I loved the peanut butter filling, but I did not like the white chocolate on them. I will make these again but with dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panini goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solsberry, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
These were awesome. I loved how they taste though you cant eat too many, lol. I made them more terrifying by making a trail of white chocolate behind the eye ball, to make it look like the eye had been ripped out. I know its gruesome but they were great for halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This recipe was perfect for my big pumpkin carving party at work! Yes, they were hard to make. Forming the balls was a little easier if I kept 1/2 the mix in the freezer and swapped when the mix I had out got too gloppy. I kept the trays of balls in the freezer once formed. Used a toothpick for dipping in the white choclate, eventually covering that hole with the "iris". I did them over a few evenings. They came out adorable! And WOW - the complements on how yummy they were! It was totally worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I am giving this recipe a lower rating because of the work it takes to make them! They taste pretty good, although I think the peanut butter filling is a little too sweet. I spent around 4 hours from start to finish on these. In my opinion, not worth the hassle, although they were a cute treat for a Halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were great. I made them for my son's class. I didn't change a thing and they came out wonderful. It's a little time consuming to do the red bloodshot look, but well worth it. I would probably use melted chocolate for the pupil instead of a chocolate chip next time. The chocolate chip didnt' sit like I had hoped it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Cloverdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
My kids and niece had such fun making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Shuunk
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I LOVED this recipe! I pieced together quite a few helpful tips from other reviewers and I thank them for the success of these, I can see how making them as written would be very frustrating! Firstly, I recommend making the "dough", refrigerating it over night and rolling into balls the next day. They form easily this way and you don't have to worry about them being too greasy or mushy. Poke toothpicks in each ball and stick in the freezer for at least a half an hour. I didn't use any shortening in my white choc mixture and it turned out fine, although I found I ran out of white choc with about 5 eyeballs left, so you may need a bit more. Dips into the white choc while holding the tooth pick, allow to dry a few seconds before pushing the ball off of the end. You may leave a fingerprint or a blemish, but you can cover it up when you create the pupil. I used decorating icing for the pupils as well as the veins. They looked great, tasted exactly like a Reeses peanut butter cup. Will definitely make these again! =) Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Shuunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Made these for my kids Halloween party!! They were a hit. I had guest coming back to the next day for leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
We made these for Halloween. Careful melting the chocolate and do not add any liquid at all for any reason. Mistakes I made....my chocolate got too hot and I thought I would add milk to smooth it out. BIG mistake. I learned later that chocolate will seize if you add a drop of liquid. Melt it slow!! Once it is overheated you can not save it. I ended up using milk chocolate after ruining the white. We made chocolate monster eyes, dipping the PB balls partially into the chocolate leaving a peanut butter circle. Then we put a chocolate chip in the center of the peanut butter "eye" for the pupil. Was a good save for an already great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States