Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I never have any luck melting white chocolate and trying this recipe wasn't any different. However my inability to cook shouldn't reflect poorly on this recipe. First after I made the peanut butter mix I put them into balls with a toothpick in each ball and then froze them overnight. I melted regular chocolate chips and then rolled the peanut butter balls in small batches. After letting the chocolate harden then it was time for tasting. Taste was very good and these things are addicting. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SD BOLT MAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya M.
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
These are fun to make and delicious. I followed the original recipe and am satisfied with the turn out. I would have liked to have had a round candy mold to speed up the process and have a smoother eye ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This should solve the problem with the texture of the peanut butter: add crushed graham crackers to the PB mixture. The graham cracker crumbs add firmness and also cut the sweetness of the sugar and chocolate coating. Start with about 3/4 cup and add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I HATE STICKY. I really hate sticky. and these are nothing but sticky...and cumbersome and difficult. They taste great. If you can get them to cooperate, they would probably look great, too. I could not make them look great. The toothpick idea mentioned by many is a great idea, but by the time I rolled the peanut butter eyeball in the melted chocolate, the eyeball began to melt as well. So - work fast! I did learn something - I don't think I like working with melted chocolate. We'll see if i have the same problem at Christmas when I make the thin mints (Mint Chocolate covered Ritz). So 3 stars for the good taste, but that's where it ends. I will never make these things again. Not unless I can figure out how to stabilize the shape of them so that they don't melt upon being dunked in hot melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Be sure and use UNSALTED butter. I made a batch with salted butter and they were inedible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Thank goodness for user tips. However, I wish I had used the shortening. The chocolate was thick and it took forever to set up even in the fridge. I also wish I had used the Rice Krispies because they were very sweet. They look good and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Added rice crispies. A great addition to our Halloween buffet! I'm not a fan of dipping in the white choc, but maybe that's just me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Just a warning...don't put regular food coloring in melted chocolate or candy coating, it will seize/clump up. Use gel or an oil based coloring. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
These turned out really good. Very sweet though. Tip, make the cookies small. My eyeball decoration wasn't perfect but they turned out fantastic taste wise. A lil hard to decorate because the pupil was dripping and I couldn't get perfect circles but otherwise great and fun to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
My family has made chocolates for years and a trick to get the chocolate to set up easier is to add a small amount of wax (like you would use for canning) to the chocolate when you melt it. If you cut a piece around a 1/8 inch thick off the short side of the block of wax it would be about the right amount. Also freeze the centers before dipping, and refrigerate but never freeze after the chocolate goes on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States