Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I made these according to the recipe. They turned out great and were a big hit for Halloween. I have tasted better an I have seen the balls rounder than I was able to get them. But, overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Great recipe!!! Made for my halloween party and everyone loved them. A few notes: I kept putting them in the freezer in between the steps to keep them hard. When i rolled them into a ball I used the batch in sections while the rest was in the freezer. Easier to work with. I also used toothpicks in the peanut butter balls to dip in the chocolate. It made them easier to manuver. I just pulled it out before i did the iris and pupil. Couldn't even tell. I did not use any shortening in the white chocolate - just meltedi n microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were really good! Everyone ate them up at my son's Halloween party. I used a toothpick dipped in red food coloring to draw the veins on the eyes and it worked really well. But the peanut butter was runny for me and I had to freeze it in order to dip them in the white chocolate. Next time I will make sure I've added enough sugar. Very good and fun for Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These are yummy! My boys really love them. I added rice crispies as someone else had commented on, and like they said I needed more white chocolate to coat them but it was worth it because they were so tasty! They're tough to handle (tried making some into ghosts too, that was challenging!) but do-able and worth the efforts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I never have any luck melting white chocolate and trying this recipe wasn't any different. However my inability to cook shouldn't reflect poorly on this recipe. First after I made the peanut butter mix I put them into balls with a toothpick in each ball and then froze them overnight. I melted regular chocolate chips and then rolled the peanut butter balls in small batches. After letting the chocolate harden then it was time for tasting. Taste was very good and these things are addicting. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SD BOLT MAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya M. Shafer
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
These are fun to make and delicious. I followed the original recipe and am satisfied with the turn out. I would have liked to have had a round candy mold to speed up the process and have a smoother eye ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya M. Shafer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This should solve the problem with the texture of the peanut butter: add crushed graham crackers to the PB mixture. The graham cracker crumbs add firmness and also cut the sweetness of the sugar and chocolate coating. Start with about 3/4 cup and add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I HATE STICKY. I really hate sticky. and these are nothing but sticky...and cumbersome and difficult. They taste great. If you can get them to cooperate, they would probably look great, too. I could not make them look great. The toothpick idea mentioned by many is a great idea, but by the time I rolled the peanut butter eyeball in the melted chocolate, the eyeball began to melt as well. So - work fast! I did learn something - I don't think I like working with melted chocolate. We'll see if i have the same problem at Christmas when I make the thin mints (Mint Chocolate covered Ritz). So 3 stars for the good taste, but that's where it ends. I will never make these things again. Not unless I can figure out how to stabilize the shape of them so that they don't melt upon being dunked in hot melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Be sure and use UNSALTED butter. I made a batch with salted butter and they were inedible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Thank goodness for user tips. However, I wish I had used the shortening. The chocolate was thick and it took forever to set up even in the fridge. I also wish I had used the Rice Krispies because they were very sweet. They look good and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States