Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These were awsome! They do require alot of time and patience to make but the final product is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I will say that I completely messed up the recipe. I misread the amount of powdered sugar that was supposed to go in. Even so these tasted really good. Like a Reese's. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was a disappointing recipe for me. It all went well until I started dipping. I used the microwave to get the chips to melt but found that it was cooling to fast. I don't have a double boiler (try to find on now days!) so I got out a pan and glass bowl that was going OK but then it hardened up again. All said and done I got 50 quarter sized balls out of the mix (17-18 grams each) but only got about 2/3 dipped and none got decorated with the iris. I didn't take them to the party I went too but took them to our monthly potluck at the beach yesterday. They did taste gook and a lot of them got eaten. I can see making them again ONLY if I can ever find a double boiler. Guess I'll have to start going to the thrift shops once in a while. It is hard to give this a fare rating as most of the problem is from a cook that is inexperienced with making candy. I'm giving it 4 starts for taste and originality but they were a pain to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
LOVED the filling ~ tasted like Reese's Peanut Butter Cups' pb filling!! I happened to have blue fondant for the iris , red fondant for the arteries, & black gel (store-bought tube) for the pupil. Instead of white chocolate, I used the Wilton's Candy Melts, but it did not go on smoothly. Maybe the recipe's white chocolate with veg. shortening will??So I only dipped & decorated 6 of the 44-48 1 Tablespoon-sized balls. The rest I served as PB Balls & they were happily eaten at a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
These remind me so much of my favorite peanut butter ball recipe, which is the same except that it calls for semi-sweet chocolate instead of white chocolate. The recipe is time consuming, but worth every minute! I took these to a halloween party, and received rave reviews, not only for the presentation, but for how delicious they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lehna
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Awesome looking and tasting! I added red frosting to the bottom to conceal the pooling effect the chocolate had when it dried. I lined my tray with crumbled oreos, lined the edges with gummy worms, and filled the tray with these eyes and the spooky witches fingers from this site. I drizzled some thin red frosting over the whole tray to add to the bloody spookiness of it all. It got a lot of compliments for looks and taste! I will be doing that again next year for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lehna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I dipped them in dark chocolate and they were good, but the chocolate was kind of thick...maybe the crisco thins it a little? I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
if you are extremely short on time, you can put peanut butter between vanilla wafers and dip in the white chocolate, then decorate the same, even less time? just one wafer plain in the white! have had no complaints on either of those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Just finished making these with my kids they are very tasty but way to hard to make . We ran out of white chocolate 12 ounces not enough. We got them all covered just didn't have enough left to make the iris. The toothpick dipped in red coloring was very time consuming. I don't know if I would go to the trouble of making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cliffside, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These really do take forever to make, but they are really fun. I thought the peanut butter dough was kind of soft and sticky, while I was making the balls it was sticking to my hands. I am not sure why but I ran out of white chocolate for all of the balls and the white chocolate started hardening very quickly. I don't usually bake or make stuff like this because I am not that great at it and I hate measuring my ing. out, and I know that's key in baking, but I would make this again. Oh the toothpick in red food coloring wasn't working for me so I used a tube of red decorating frosting. Took this to work and everyone thought they were cute but very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States