Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by lehna
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Awesome looking and tasting! I added red frosting to the bottom to conceal the pooling effect the chocolate had when it dried. I lined my tray with crumbled oreos, lined the edges with gummy worms, and filled the tray with these eyes and the spooky witches fingers from this site. I drizzled some thin red frosting over the whole tray to add to the bloody spookiness of it all. It got a lot of compliments for looks and taste! I will be doing that again next year for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lehna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I dipped them in dark chocolate and they were good, but the chocolate was kind of thick...maybe the crisco thins it a little? I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
if you are extremely short on time, you can put peanut butter between vanilla wafers and dip in the white chocolate, then decorate the same, even less time? just one wafer plain in the white! have had no complaints on either of those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Just finished making these with my kids they are very tasty but way to hard to make . We ran out of white chocolate 12 ounces not enough. We got them all covered just didn't have enough left to make the iris. The toothpick dipped in red coloring was very time consuming. I don't know if I would go to the trouble of making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cliffside, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These really do take forever to make, but they are really fun. I thought the peanut butter dough was kind of soft and sticky, while I was making the balls it was sticking to my hands. I am not sure why but I ran out of white chocolate for all of the balls and the white chocolate started hardening very quickly. I don't usually bake or make stuff like this because I am not that great at it and I hate measuring my ing. out, and I know that's key in baking, but I would make this again. Oh the toothpick in red food coloring wasn't working for me so I used a tube of red decorating frosting. Took this to work and everyone thought they were cute but very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These are delicious and super cute, but they take FOREVER to make so I don't think I'll be making them a second time! I used a lot of red food coloring in the peanut butter mixture to make them red inside. (You know, more realistic.) I used upside down full sized chocolate chips instead of mini chocolate chips for the pupils. I thought they looked better. I also made blue and green eyes. When you apply the red for the veins use a tiny bit on a toothpick and lightly drag it through the white chocolate before it has hardened all the way. Don't over do it or it will look really cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lesel
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These were delicious. I made them with natural peanut butter - it is thicker, so I did not have issues with them being too soft. Also left out the shortening, wasn't necessary for the chocolate glaze. I shaped them into little ghosts instead of eyes. Mini chips for eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These came out soooooo cute. My daughter had a half day of school today, so I made all of the peanut butter balls and just put them in the fridge for a couple of hours, then we did the fun stuff. Be sure to place your mini-chips in as soon as you do the retinas, the white chocolate seemed to set up pretty fast. They do, indeed, taste like peanut butter cups. I already have plans for Christmas, just subbing semi-sweet for white chocolate, and sprinkling with festive decorator sprinkles. Thanks for a great tasting, fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
There are several shortcuts I took from other sources. Stick the balls on plastic forks, easier to work with, stand them in coffee mugs and refrigerate. I have trouble with chocolate melting so I used a can of ready made frosting in the can and melted it in the microwave for 25 seconds, took the fork and dipped it into the frosting can. Eyballs were gummy lifesavers with a dark chocolate chip stuck in with frosting. Red veins were made with red readymade frosting in the tube. For the kids I used donut holes instead. fast and easy. they made and ate them at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Made these for a halloween dessert contest at work and I won! They are not hard to make but take a lot of time from start to finish. I agree with other posters to putting them in the freezer prior to dipping them in the chocolate. Thanks for the winning idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States