Spooky Calzone Snake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bart
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Awesome Recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
It got eatten so fast that I forgot to take a photo. Will need to make again. I was debating, why bother since it's like a pizza, but not really with the ricotta cheese instead of tomato sauce. I made it with chopped anchovies near the head for people who prefer them to salami and with salami instead of pepperoni the rest of the way. It was a great hit with the kids and adults. I baked it at 450 for 20 minutes and it was nice and crisp on the outside and chewy and soft inside with the cheese well melted. I also added an egg to the cheese mixture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Molin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made this for my 5-year-old daughter's Halloween party. It was a big hit! Not only was it "creepy," but it was yummy. There was none left at the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I absolutely love this calzone dough! We eat calzones at least twice a month and I always use this recipe. I've never done the egg coating at the end and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessie D.
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This calzone snake was alot of fun to make and taste great too! If my son had his way he would have me make "snake for dinner" every night. All in all this was alot of fun, taste great, and I definately will be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
My family has been making "the snake" for our Halloween dinner for years. In fact, one year I figured my kids had gotten too old for it and served something else...my family STRONGLY protested! I try to change the filling up every year. This recipe and the ham/cheese combo are our favorites. It seems like it takes awhile to make but that is just because you have to wait for the rise. Plan ahead and you wont have a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Tremendous fun to make & eat. I cheated & used a can of crescent roll for the dough (pinched together seams), then simply put a light layer of spaghetti sauce, followed by a single layer of turkey pepperoni & a generous sprinkling of shredded mozzarella. Used pastry brush to add diluted yellow food coloring to dough, then used diluted green food coloring to add spots & lines, dabbing gently with a paper towel to ensure green did not run. Even my incredibly picky daughter (who never eats) finished all her "Snake" AND salad (that is a huge compliment for me!). Great concept that can be made more easily using pre-made ingredients...great time-saver & inexpensive meal for a busy weeknight...have fun with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I too used the refrigerated pizza dough, I bought two of them to ensure I had enough and it was a hit! Disappeard at a Halloween party, so definitely will make again- I added a bit of pizza sauce to it, and used cottage cheese instead of ricotta- worked well and people seemed to enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
These were a cute idea, but my family really didn't care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I love this recipe! We don't shape it like a snake though. I did make a few changes though. I always double the recipe. When i proof my yeast i use 1/2 cup of water and when it is time to add it to the flour and other ingredients i use 1 1/2 cups of warm milk (to replace the left out water) In the dough I add 3 cloves of fresh minced garlic, 1-2 tbsp of parsley and 1-2 tbsp Italian seasoning. In the cheese filling I add 2-3 more minced garlic cloves! (we like a lot of garlic) and about 1/2 cup of parm cheese. I like to keep the pepperoni separate from the cheese mixture. I put a thick layer of it on one side of the rolled out dough, then add the cheese mixture and close her up. They are delicious! And if there are any left overs, they taste really good cold the next day too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States