Split-Second Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Been making these all my life...they take me back to childhood...well in recent years I've been into healthy cooking sooooo I used 100%whole wheat flour for these and OMG what a difference. I would highly recommend that you do the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
So easy to make (not necessarily super quick, but super easy)! They taste very buttery and are easy to cut after coming out of the oven. Don't skimp on the jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Mine turned out flat but that didn't stop us from devouring them. Great shortbread-type flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I've been making these cookies for years as my mother before me. It was a Pillsbury Bake-Off finalist from the 1950s. As most reviewers say, when you have a craving for nice cookies, this is the one to make because it goes together easily and most folks have all the necessary ingredients. If you have trouble making the logs, do it on a lightly-floured surface. For the reviewer who couldn't get the batter to set up, did you use real butter? You cannot substitute. Recipe doesn't give an alternative. I'm betting you used a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARTEMIS2854

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cairo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
The recipe was quick, and easy, and the resulting cookie has good texture and flavor. I wish that I had made thumbprint cookies instead of the log style, just so I had a more uniform look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very good, a quicker version of a thumbprint cookie. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
So smart! I never would have thought to do this - it's basically a "thumbprint" cookie but with much less rolling involved. You could roll the logs in nuts...however you do "thumbprint." But it is faster! And it makes a nice-looking cookie. I drizzled mine w/ a milk/powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
these were very easy and fast to make, I used raspberry preserves because I did not have jam and they turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
They taste wonderful! The dough was hard to form into logs (too sticky). I made the 1/2 inch depression and my cookies are falling apart in the middle, spilling jam everywhere. I think next time I'll use this recipe and just make thumbprint cookies instead. Definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranberry Twp, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I wasn't going for presentation (just happened to have the ingredients and wanted something sweet) so I mixed the jam in with the batter. Still very yummy, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States