Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This was my first attempt at split pea soup with left over ham and I was amazed. It was easy, delicious, and I have made it several times. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Rakich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Shasta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Delicious! This is our go to pea soup. My husband and I prefer using the yellow split peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This is a very nice, hearty split pea soup. The added carrots and potatoes give a nice bite and flavor to the soup. Definitely a keeper. I didn't have Marjoram, so used Oregano which worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This was my first time ever making Split Pea Soup and it turned out amazing! Based on some of the reviews I read prior, I just made a couple of tweaks. My split peas soaked from 9:30pm till 3:00pm the following day. They were fine. I finely sliced the onions and lightly sauteed them in OO and 3 cloves of garlic. For the broth I used water (10 cups worth so the soup wasn't so thick). I didn't need to use chicken stock. I added salt, pepper, marjoram, thyme, parsley flakes and garlic powder. I eye balled it. For the veggies I used 2 cups of carrots, 3 stalks of celery, and about 2 cups of potatoes. I followed the directions in the original recipe with my added ingredients. AWESOME SOUP!!! I would recommend watching the video that accompanies this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Great recipe. Just like Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Good recipe base for split pea soup but I made additions. I omitted the marjoram and did not have a ham bone so I used one thick sliced ham steak (my first time and it was great!)I add to a dutch oven couple swirls olive oil, 1 finely diced onion, 2 large stalks finely chopped celery (celery always give a great added flavor), 3 cloves minced garlic, 4 bay leaves. 1-2 tspn. poultry spice, 1-2 tspn. ground thyme, salt & pepper to taste. Soaked 1 pkg of split peas the night before and after veggies are softened I add split peas & 1 quart chicken stock with 1/2 quart water. I simmer for at least 4-5 hours on simmer. The last hour I add: chopped up ham steak, 4 carrots small dice & 2 potatoes small dice. I like my split pea soup thick & hearty, not 'soupy'. I keep checking the consistency and add more water if needed (I add hot water to pot). Also added 1 chicken bouillon for more flavor...after the 4th hour I take about 1/4 of the soup into a separate bowl and puree (using my blender stick). I then add back to pot and simmer. Usually done after 5 hours and its soooo good!!! The chopped ham is a great addition and 1 slice is enough, unless you prefer more. This soup is great all year round. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Great recipe...Thank you for sharing. We added some smoked bacon ends for flavor, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smokingalleykat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MELISSASUE79
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I used cubed ham from a precooked ham, I switched water for chicken broth like others suggested. I put it through blender at the end and then put ham back in. My first attempt at pea soup in my life and it turned out so I'm happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I Love it! it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanda Thompson
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I really like the flavor but it needs more salt, I added three chicken bouillon cubes and that helped. Super easy and fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanda Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States