Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This was really tasty! I had a bigger ham bone, so needed to use more water. So, my soup did not come out as thick as I would have liked. The flavor was spot on and I would make this again. Kids even like this one. Makes a ton and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I made this but used chicken stock to soak and cook the soup base. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I followed the directions only leaving out the potato and I cooked the ham bone in low sodium chicken broth. This was my first time making split pea soup and it was a hit! My family loved it! Thank you so much for the recipe and the reviews and suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My mother always loved pea soup, but I couldn't get over the fact that it looked gross. In my old age I finally decided to give it a try. Its really good. This is my first attempt at making it from scratch. It was very good. I have never made any type of soup without adding canned broth. I was very intimidated to try to make soup using a bone. We had ham for Easter and I decided to save the bone and give it a try. It turned out really well. I have never used dried peas or beans either. The package of peas said the peas didn't need to be soaked, only rinsed and drained, so that is what I did. I boiled the ham bone for about an hour in enough water to cover, took it out and cut off the meat. Added the meat back to the broth and added the rest of the ingredients and just let it simmer for another hour. Yummm. It was really good. My mom would be proud!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe as is. Sometimes I add bacon or pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I really like this recipe but I also find it extremely hard to buy a ham bone. I live in Canada and nobody sells ham bones. Neither grocery stores nor butchers. I have instead substituted it with farmer sausages or savory bockwurst. I found that this soup is even better when reheated after a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was AMAZING! From the pictures, it didn't look too appetizing so I was hesitant to make it. But I made it anyway and I am so glad I did. My husband, who is probably like many other husbands out there, a skeptic when it comes to new and strange foods, but when this soup is made correctly (i.e. follow the directions) he RAVED over it!! The only thing that came to mind was that it tasted like beef stew except instead of beef broth you have thick creamy peas. Definitely give this one a try, it's worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
You don't need to soak peas; you can just start cooking them right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This soup is one of my winter staples...enjoying it now as I write this review!!! As with any soup, I personally prefer it to be as hearty as possible...so add more potatoes, carrots and ham if you feel the same...I go lighter on the onions and I add garlic. I also substitute 2 cups of chicken broth and add celery salt instead of the celery...I can then eliminate the salt...5 star soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
One does not need to soak split peas. It will save time not to do so and will not affect the recipe. This recipe is quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States