Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Darn good, even with some substitutions! It's kind of like a stew. I used some smoked, uncured bacon since I didn't have ham. No marjoram either, so a couple bayleaves, some garlic and a little of this and that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I added one can of chicken broth a Lil more salt and pepper. No ham bone just ham sliced off the bone. Added thyme and bay leaves. I left the potatoes and carrots oyt. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
What to do with all that Christmas ham? Take that ham bone and simmer it in half water, half chicken broth for an hour or so before adding the other ingredients. I added some garlic, thyme and bay leaves, per other users suggestions. This makes up a really great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Recently made this recipe in my crock pot. It's a good basic recipe that you can alter to your family's tastes. I used half chicken stock and half water, omitted the marjoram and potato and added a bay leaf while it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I did make a few changes, suggestions by others, but this soup was WOW fantastic! Super easy too. I used half-water and half chicken broth, added garlic, 2 cups potatos, 2 cups, carrots, 2 cups celery, some garlic and only 2 cups of split peas. I also used a left over ham that was on the bone and still had a good amount of meat. It does take longer to cook than 1 1/2 hours, but over all it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
used ham cubes instead of bone. added 1 cup of chicken broth. used two potatoes. it was very very salty, so I will omit salt next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Even people who don't like split pea soup, liked it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My hubby loved it, I don't like pea soup. Great recipe as is, I just increased veggies, throwing an extra of each in & added a teaspoon of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMBlaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Excellent soup. Only change was to use thyme instead of marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Loane-Archibald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States