Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
It was fine, but I'm still looking for a fabulous split pea soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This soup was delicious, and very easy. I followed the directions as is and we really enjoyed it. Thank you1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I did the recipe for what it calls for, although I only had baby carrots. The marjoram can be substituted with oregano. I don't even know what marjoram is, I looked it up and Google came up with it being or being similar to oregano. Much enjoyment while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Good soup but it needs a bit of a kick so I add finely diced red, green & yellow peppers, as well as flakes of bacon (sometimes turkey & sometimes pork). I also remove the celery but add an extra potato & extra carrot to compensate. Lastly I add more spice; a pinch of garlic & of thyme as well as a sprinkle of mustard powder. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a great recipe! I cooked the ham in a oven bag, in a crock pot. We used a can of cherry coke and pineapple slices, some of the pineapple juice, brown sugar, and clove spears. In the soup I added pepper, bay leaf and some of the juice from cooking the ham, and the vegetables in the recipe. Wow, what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Delicious! I made a few mistakes due to flying through the recipe too quickly; I didn't measure out the water but instead just eye-balled it so the peas were covered a few inches. I also accidently put the carrots and celery in at the beginning so they cooked the entire time. The celery and onion were all cooked down but there were still visible bits of carrot. Lastly, I added a few bay leaves in lieu of the marjoram. BTW 2 1/4 c dried peas = 16 oz bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Like many others, I added a bit of garlic (1-2 TBSP minced). I also eliminated the potatoes but added a large slice of maple cured/cooked ham diced into small pieces. Just before serving I added a cup of milk. This is a huge family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This was really wonderful soup! We used a ham steak instead of ham bone and added a sweet potato we wanted to get rid of. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was delicious! I love split pea soup and was always afraid to make it. I had the bone & left overs from a boiled dinner so figured I would give it a try. I even used the potatoes & carrots from the left over dinner. This was SO EASY to make & the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I made this soup for a "soup n salad" gathering of classmates. We all graduated in 1972 and get together monthly. The raving was unbelievable! However, I'm allergic to actual onions so I used onion powder and garlic. Not enough ham on the bones so I chopped up some smoked ham & added 20 min prior to serving. Also, transferred to a crock pot. I also have a very picky eater client. He asked for seconds! Making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States