Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
yummy, it is thick like some have mentioned, but that is how I like it. quite salty and I did not add any salt (probably just because of the ham I used), but again that is how I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This came out really think. More like mashed potatoes than soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Perfect soup for autumn weather! Used chicken stock as a base and let it simmer all day in the crockpot. Added garlic, bay leaves and other customisations to add more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Very good, from other reviewers I left out the salt and used 1/2 c chicken broth in place of water, added 2 garlic cloves and 2 bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Very good recipe. I would not change a thing, I did put just a bit more water but I think original amount is fine too. I did add 5 fresh leaves of sage and thought it worked great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is a delicious recipe. I've made it sooo many times. I read the reviews and chose to the sautee veggies (adding minced garlic) in butter prior to adding to soup. I also add 2 bay leaves, crushed red pepper. and garlic salt to taste. A great way to use up leftover ham from Easter/Christmas dinner. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I guess when you make too many changes to a recipe you're not really reviewing the same recipe anymore. Nevertheless here's what I changed: 2 cups dried peas, 1 quart chicken broth instead of 2 quarts water, 2 cups diced ham instead of ham bone, only 1 tsp salt, only 2 stalks celery. Most of these changes were based on other reviews. Next time I will leave out the marjoram as I'm not really a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I've made this a couple of times, and is my go to my recipe for Split Pea soup. Follow it pretty much exactly as stated, and I love how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna vas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I like the consistency of this soup, reminds me of how my mom made it. I did a simplified version: rinsed, but didn't soak the peas, sauteed the onions for a bit before adding the peas, 8 cups of water, spices, and part chicken/part beef bouillon (I lessened the amount of salt). Boiled then simmered 1 1/2 hours and the peas were quite broken down. Added carrots and boiled/simmered for another half hour and it was done in two hours! Also I added some hot sauce for an extra kick since split pea soup can have a monotone flavor, and also due to me not having potatoes or celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Excellent! Followed it to the T. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Besada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States