Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I added one can of chicken broth a Lil more salt and pepper. No ham bone just ham sliced off the bone. Added thyme and bay leaves. I left the potatoes and carrots oyt. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
What to do with all that Christmas ham? Take that ham bone and simmer it in half water, half chicken broth for an hour or so before adding the other ingredients. I added some garlic, thyme and bay leaves, per other users suggestions. This makes up a really great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Recently made this recipe in my crock pot. It's a good basic recipe that you can alter to your family's tastes. I used half chicken stock and half water, omitted the marjoram and potato and added a bay leaf while it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I did make a few changes, suggestions by others, but this soup was WOW fantastic! Super easy too. I used half-water and half chicken broth, added garlic, 2 cups potatos, 2 cups, carrots, 2 cups celery, some garlic and only 2 cups of split peas. I also used a left over ham that was on the bone and still had a good amount of meat. It does take longer to cook than 1 1/2 hours, but over all it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
used ham cubes instead of bone. added 1 cup of chicken broth. used two potatoes. it was very very salty, so I will omit salt next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Even people who don't like split pea soup, liked it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My hubby loved it, I don't like pea soup. Great recipe as is, I just increased veggies, throwing an extra of each in & added a teaspoon of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMBlaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Excellent soup. Only change was to use thyme instead of marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I, too, do not soak the peas overnight, but I usually start with hot water and cook it on High for the first 6 hours. The thickness of this can vary quite a lot. If it's getting near serving time and it seems too thin, I hit it with the immersion blender. If that doesn't do the trick, I add instant mashed potato flakes--plain or flavored (like loaded mashed potatoes, four cheese, or whatever). It thickens the mixture beautifully and doesn't hurt the flavor at all. If anything, the flavored kinds are actually pretty tasty add-ons. My father *loves* this recipe. Every time I cook a ham, the leftovers are inevitably destined for the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IvyMcAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States