Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was really good the flavored were yummy I originally didn't purée it and I lived it that way but then I puréed a second batch because my husband likes the puréed soup. I preferred it non puréed because it had a mealy texture puréed... But the flavors were yummy both ways , just a matter of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Put all the ingredients in a crockpot on high, stir a couple times during cooking. After maybe 5 1/2 hours the soup is ready. Delicious, easy, very satisfying, and the potato, carrots, onion, and celery give it more depth. I am ready for another cup, and this is leftovers from last night's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Left the potato out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Darn good, even with some substitutions! It's kind of like a stew. I used some smoked, uncured bacon since I didn't have ham. No marjoram either, so a couple bayleaves, some garlic and a little of this and that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I added one can of chicken broth a Lil more salt and pepper. No ham bone just ham sliced off the bone. Added thyme and bay leaves. I left the potatoes and carrots oyt. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
What to do with all that Christmas ham? Take that ham bone and simmer it in half water, half chicken broth for an hour or so before adding the other ingredients. I added some garlic, thyme and bay leaves, per other users suggestions. This makes up a really great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Recently made this recipe in my crock pot. It's a good basic recipe that you can alter to your family's tastes. I used half chicken stock and half water, omitted the marjoram and potato and added a bay leaf while it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I did make a few changes, suggestions by others, but this soup was WOW fantastic! Super easy too. I used half-water and half chicken broth, added garlic, 2 cups potatos, 2 cups, carrots, 2 cups celery, some garlic and only 2 cups of split peas. I also used a left over ham that was on the bone and still had a good amount of meat. It does take longer to cook than 1 1/2 hours, but over all it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
used ham cubes instead of bone. added 1 cup of chicken broth. used two potatoes. it was very very salty, so I will omit salt next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Even people who don't like split pea soup, liked it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States