Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Delicious! I made a few mistakes due to flying through the recipe too quickly; I didn't measure out the water but instead just eye-balled it so the peas were covered a few inches. I also accidently put the carrots and celery in at the beginning so they cooked the entire time. The celery and onion were all cooked down but there were still visible bits of carrot. Lastly, I added a few bay leaves in lieu of the marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Like many others, I added a bit of garlic (1-2 TBSP minced). I also eliminated the potatoes but added a large slice of maple cured/cooked ham diced into small pieces. Just before serving I added a cup of milk. This is a huge family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This was really wonderful soup! We used a ham steak instead of ham bone and added a sweet potato we wanted to get rid of. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was delicious! I love split pea soup and was always afraid to make it. I had the bone & left overs from a boiled dinner so figured I would give it a try. I even used the potatoes & carrots from the left over dinner. This was SO EASY to make & the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I made this soup for a "soup n salad" gathering of classmates. We all graduated in 1972 and get together monthly. The raving was unbelievable! However, I'm allergic to actual onions so I used onion powder and garlic. Not enough ham on the bones so I chopped up some smoked ham & added 20 min prior to serving. Also, transferred to a crock pot. I also have a very picky eater client. He asked for seconds! Making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Hearty and satisfying (although kids would not eat), my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very thick and filling but sooooo good! If you start early enough you don't have to soak the peas at all. Freezes well too!….as a side note, I found you don't have to follow the recipe exactly, it's just as good with added spices or if you don't have EVERY spice in your kitchen that's listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I've used this recipe a few times however like many of the other reviews I adapt it a little. Basically the same ingredients only in addition I use some chicken broth powder (oxo soup base)) and a couple of teaspoons of bottled fresh garlic, no potatoes (it's already quite thick) and I throw everything in a bowl and simmer for 8 hours. Remove the bone and puree everything with an immersion blender, cut the meat of the bone and put it into the soup and it's ready to go. I've soaked the peas in the past but find it makes no difference. If it's it's too thick I add more soup base and water, if it's too thick, I add some instant mashed potatoes. A touch of balsamic vinegar adds an interesting flavour. (1tbs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this soup in a crock pot and cooked it on high for 4.5 hours. I did not change a thing in the recipe except my husband and I added hot sauce to our soup bowls. It was delicious and I'll be making it again and again....Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was really good the flavored were yummy I originally didn't purée it and I lived it that way but then I puréed a second batch because my husband likes the puréed soup. I preferred it non puréed because it had a mealy texture puréed... But the flavors were yummy both ways , just a matter of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States