Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Wonderful soup as is. However, I have made a few changes to "kick it up, a notch". I have added a bay leaf, a couple cloves of garlic, and a pinch of thyme. Instead of the ham bone, I used a ham hock and used up some left over ham cubes I had in the freezer. I also lightly sauteed the onions with some garlic in a little bit of EVOO before adding the Ham Hock. I also did half chicken stock and half water... sure makes a differance in flavor. I also find 2 cups of dried peas, instead of 2 1/2 is more than enough as this soup tends to end up a tad too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I used this recipe as a base for my own creation. This was simply the best soup I have ever made. I did boil the ham hock in chicken broth instead of water for 1 hour ahead of time. Then I added the split peas and pepper (I omitted the salt). I added about 2 cups of diced carrots, 2 cups of celery and 2 cups of potatoes. I added 2 garlic cloves, some parsley flakes, thyme, onion powder (since I left the onions out), 2 bay leaves and the taste was amazing! I was going to blend the split peas before I added the other stuff, but they lost form and made the soup a lot thicker. I hope I can replicate this soup, it was off the hook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This recipe is great and can be tweeked to your own preference. I threw all the ingredients into a crock pot, didn't rinse the peas and threw the ham bone in with all the meat on. I cooked it on high for several hours. I probably added more liquid than the recipe called for but then I just threw in a whole bag of dried split peas..so thought I would need more liquid. THe soup was REALLY thick, and so I add more chicken broth to every serving. I also used Thyme instead of marjoram as i didn't have that in the cupboard. I will definately use this recipe everytime I have a ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
612 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
the reason you pre-soak the peas and i keep changing the water ,, is the less gas you have, and that always better... this soup is great ,, ive been making this for years and always use stock (chicken)instead of water,,, awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Very nice soup. One thing I changed in the recipe was the ham bone. I boiled the bone by itself for 1 1/2 hours before adding the rest of the ingredients. It added alot of flavour. Next time I make this I will omit the potatoes and add 1 clove of garlic. Makes LOTS of soup, will probably scale to 1/2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This is the best split pea soup recipe! I've made it three times, and am making it again right now with the ham bone left over from Easter dinner. I don't soak the peas overnight (like my mom used to do), and it still turns out perfect every time. I also will substitute some of the water with chicken broth to give it a little more flavor. The soup freezes really well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Very easy and filling! I used about 1 1/2 cups chopped ham instead of the ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Outstanding! After reading a few reviews I tossed the following into a crock pot: 1 1-lb bag split peas, 2 quarts chicken stock, 1 ham bone, 2 cups cubed ham, 2 cups carrots, 1 diced potato, 1 diced onion, 2 cloves chopped garlic, 1/2 t salt, 1/2 t garlic powder, 1/2 t cumin, 1/4 t paprika, 1/4 t pepper, 2 bay leaves and a pinch marjoram. Cooked on high for 8 hours. Removed ham bone and bay leaves, and cook uncovered for last hour on low. So good! Update 3/13/11 I made this today on the stove instead of a crock pot...crock pot is the way to go. It takes longer, but it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaNJ
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Delicious! and I hate peas. I followed exactly as written, but I like a little more salt & pepper. I had to thin it out a bit the next day with some milk. It has been mentioned before, but the split peas = a 1 pound bag and I don't think the pre-soak is necessary. Updated, I just made this again using chicken stock pre-frying the onion and not soaking the peas, fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
A good basic recipe that you can personalize to suit your tastes. I used low fat, low salt chicken broth in lieu of the water, which is what you can use to thin the soup without loss of flavor (for the reviewer who asked). I skipped the ham bone. I removed the casings from a large package of sausage which I browned and drained and then added to the soup. My additional seasonings included garlic and onion powders, parsley flakes, a little oregano and a bay leaf. Pea soup doesn't taste any better than after a couple of hours of trick or treating here in N.J. Add some home made croutons and your set to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States