Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is the most hearty, soul warming pea soup and I've been making pea soup for years... This is the 2nd time I've made this recipe and the only thing I changed was to omit the marjoram because I didn't have it the 1st time and forgot to pick some of for the 2nd time around. I will make it again and if I think of it, I'll pick up the marjoram and actually add it to the recipe to see if it changes my mind one way or the other. Serving it this chilly New England night with sliced toasted baguettes before the NE Patriots game! Going to try it sometime in the crock to simplify the process. Thanks for a keeper Bluebayou, it's New England approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
we loved this! I had cooked a ham two days prior, in an apple juice worchest. sauce mixture, so my ham was a little sweet, but made a very delicious addition to this perfect soup. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Takes a long time to cook but is absolutely DELICIOUS! Changes I've made to enhance it: 5 celery sticks, 4 carrots, half water & half chicken broth, and 2 big pinches of marjoram. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Best recipe I've tried for split pea- my husband's favorite soup. Added beef base because I had no chicken broth as suggested by other reviewers. Threw it all in my crock pot for six hours. Ended up rather thin so I added a little cornstarch. Ended up being the perfect consistency one it had cooled slightly. Loved it! Hopefully I can replicate it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
2.5 Quarts of chicken stock to 1LB peas 2 cups carrots 2 cups chopped onions sautéed first skipped celery this time Thyme not marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Simple and flavourful. I've also used leftover holiday without a bone, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
The ham hock bone was critical. I think mine was smoked...because it had such great flavor. I used my slow cooker and based it off home made chicken stock. Huge flavor, great taste. I cooked the peas on low for an hour or so and jacked it up to high for awhile. I tried not to overcook the veggies, not turning them into a mirepoix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Angulo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Franklin, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This is sooo good! Never had split pea soup with potatoes in it but it adds another texture that makes this the best I've had. Added a bit of cooked bacon since I've always used it in past recipes. About 4 slices cut up. Will keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This is the absolute best Split Pea recipe ever! I have made this with smoked ham hocks and when I add the carrots, celery and potato, I diced the meat from the ham hocks and put it back in with the veggies. I have also made this with the leftover ham bone from a spiral sliced ham, and I also added a few thick slices of diced ham. My daughter who dislikes peas, cooked celery and cooked carrots is one who requests this often. Serving this with cracked black pepper trinkets instead of plain crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluebird

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States