Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This soup is one of my winter staples...enjoying it now as I write this review!!! As with any soup, I personally prefer it to be as hearty as possible...so add more potatoes, carrots and ham if you feel the same...I go lighter on the onions and I add garlic. I also substitute 2 cups of chicken broth and add celery salt instead of the celery...I can then eliminate the salt...5 star soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
One does not need to soak split peas. It will save time not to do so and will not affect the recipe. This recipe is quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is wonderful, but I change quite a bit. I use 1 can Chicken stock, 1 can light Chicken stock and 1 can veggie stock, then enough water to make 3 quarts. I use 1 1/2 bags peas. Add 1 bay leaf and 3 cloves garlic. I up the celery to 4 stalks, carrots to 6. 1 1/2 onions No need to soak the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Very good. I sued the leftovers from a bone in spiral ham and added some thyme and garlic. I also used more potatoes and only 1 onion. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Gaylord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I followed Blincky's tweaks and the results were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I've made a ton of recipes from this site over the past 10 years, and I have to say... this is one of my all time favorites! I have people begging me to make this soup, and my kids are crazy giddy when I tell them we're having pea soup for dinner. Who would've ever thought...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREAKITIKI97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Reiminds me of my Mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 20477
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
My son loved this. I used smoke turkey instead of ham, chicken broth instead of water and thyme instead of marjoram. I also added 2 tsp. of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great recipe, excellent with a crusty bread. Hearty tasty dish. We tweaked it a little to our own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States