Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very thick and filling but sooooo good! If you start early enough you don't have to soak the peas at all. Freezes well too!….as a side note, I found you don't have to follow the recipe exactly, it's just as good with added spices or if you don't have EVERY spice in your kitchen that's listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I've used this recipe a few times however like many of the other reviews I adapt it a little. Basically the same ingredients only in addition I use some chicken broth powder (oxo soup base)) and a couple of teaspoons of bottled fresh garlic, no potatoes (it's already quite thick) and I throw everything in a bowl and simmer for 8 hours. Remove the bone and puree everything with an immersion blender, cut the meat of the bone and put it into the soup and it's ready to go. I've soaked the peas in the past but find it makes no difference. If it's it's too thick I add more soup base and water, if it's too thick, I add some instant mashed potatoes. A touch of balsamic vinegar adds an interesting flavour. (1tbs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this soup in a crock pot and cooked it on high for 4.5 hours. I did not change a thing in the recipe except my husband and I added hot sauce to our soup bowls. It was delicious and I'll be making it again and again....Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was really good the flavored were yummy I originally didn't purée it and I lived it that way but then I puréed a second batch because my husband likes the puréed soup. I preferred it non puréed because it had a mealy texture puréed... But the flavors were yummy both ways , just a matter of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Put all the ingredients in a crockpot on high, stir a couple times during cooking. After maybe 5 1/2 hours the soup is ready. Delicious, easy, very satisfying, and the potato, carrots, onion, and celery give it more depth. I am ready for another cup, and this is leftovers from last night's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Left the potato out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Darn good, even with some substitutions! It's kind of like a stew. I used some smoked, uncured bacon since I didn't have ham. No marjoram either, so a couple bayleaves, some garlic and a little of this and that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I added one can of chicken broth a Lil more salt and pepper. No ham bone just ham sliced off the bone. Added thyme and bay leaves. I left the potatoes and carrots oyt. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
What to do with all that Christmas ham? Take that ham bone and simmer it in half water, half chicken broth for an hour or so before adding the other ingredients. I added some garlic, thyme and bay leaves, per other users suggestions. This makes up a really great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Recently made this recipe in my crock pot. It's a good basic recipe that you can alter to your family's tastes. I used half chicken stock and half water, omitted the marjoram and potato and added a bay leaf while it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States