Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is a delicious recipe. I've made it sooo many times. I read the reviews and chose to the sautee veggies (adding minced garlic) in butter prior to adding to soup. I also add 2 bay leaves, crushed red pepper. and garlic salt to taste. A great way to use up leftover ham from Easter/Christmas dinner. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I guess when you make too many changes to a recipe you're not really reviewing the same recipe anymore. Nevertheless here's what I changed: 2 cups dried peas, 1 quart chicken broth instead of 2 quarts water, 2 cups diced ham instead of ham bone, only 1 tsp salt, only 2 stalks celery. Most of these changes were based on other reviews. Next time I will leave out the marjoram as I'm not really a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I've made this a couple of times, and is my go to my recipe for Split Pea soup. Follow it pretty much exactly as stated, and I love how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna vas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I like the consistency of this soup, reminds me of how my mom made it. I did a simplified version: rinsed, but didn't soak the peas, sauteed the onions for a bit before adding the peas, 8 cups of water, spices, and part chicken/part beef bouillon (I lessened the amount of salt). Boiled then simmered 1 1/2 hours and the peas were quite broken down. Added carrots and boiled/simmered for another half hour and it was done in two hours! Also I added some hot sauce for an extra kick since split pea soup can have a monotone flavor, and also due to me not having potatoes or celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Excellent! Followed it to the T. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aefrb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
It was fine, but I'm still looking for a fabulous split pea soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This soup was delicious, and very easy. I followed the directions as is and we really enjoyed it. Thank you1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I did the recipe for what it calls for, although I only had baby carrots. The marjoram can be substituted with oregano. I don't even know what marjoram is, I looked it up and Google came up with it being or being similar to oregano. Much enjoyment while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Good soup but it needs a bit of a kick so I add finely diced red, green & yellow peppers, as well as flakes of bacon (sometimes turkey & sometimes pork). I also remove the celery but add an extra potato & extra carrot to compensate. Lastly I add more spice; a pinch of garlic & of thyme as well as a sprinkle of mustard powder. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a great recipe! I cooked the ham in a oven bag, in a crock pot. We used a can of cherry coke and pineapple slices, some of the pineapple juice, brown sugar, and clove spears. In the soup I added pepper, bay leaf and some of the juice from cooking the ham, and the vegetables in the recipe. Wow, what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States