Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe as is. Sometimes I add bacon or pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I really like this recipe but I also find it extremely hard to buy a ham bone. I live in Canada and nobody sells ham bones. Neither grocery stores nor butchers. I have instead substituted it with farmer sausages or savory bockwurst. I found that this soup is even better when reheated after a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was AMAZING! From the pictures, it didn't look too appetizing so I was hesitant to make it. But I made it anyway and I am so glad I did. My husband, who is probably like many other husbands out there, a skeptic when it comes to new and strange foods, but when this soup is made correctly (i.e. follow the directions) he RAVED over it!! The only thing that came to mind was that it tasted like beef stew except instead of beef broth you have thick creamy peas. Definitely give this one a try, it's worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
You don't need to soak peas; you can just start cooking them right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This soup is one of my winter staples...enjoying it now as I write this review!!! As with any soup, I personally prefer it to be as hearty as possible...so add more potatoes, carrots and ham if you feel the same...I go lighter on the onions and I add garlic. I also substitute 2 cups of chicken broth and add celery salt instead of the celery...I can then eliminate the salt...5 star soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
One does not need to soak split peas. It will save time not to do so and will not affect the recipe. This recipe is quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is wonderful, but I change quite a bit. I use 1 can Chicken stock, 1 can light Chicken stock and 1 can veggie stock, then enough water to make 3 quarts. I use 1 1/2 bags peas. Add 1 bay leaf and 3 cloves garlic. I up the celery to 4 stalks, carrots to 6. 1 1/2 onions No need to soak the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Very good. I sued the leftovers from a bone in spiral ham and added some thyme and garlic. I also used more potatoes and only 1 onion. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Gaylord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I followed Blincky's tweaks and the results were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I've made a ton of recipes from this site over the past 10 years, and I have to say... this is one of my all time favorites! I have people begging me to make this soup, and my kids are crazy giddy when I tell them we're having pea soup for dinner. Who would've ever thought...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States