Split Pea Soup without Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Delicious, thisck and very filling soup! I doubled the recipe and freeze some. I sauted an onion and the carrots and celery in the pot before adding the stock. I also added a bay leaf and garlic powder and some thyme. I let it simmer for 2 1/2 - 3 hours to make sure the split peas got all mushy and made the soup thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I have made it several times and it's always great. I've always had to leave it on the stove a little longer then the recipe says (2 1/2 - 3 hours) but it is well worth it! The reason some people may have found it watery is because they didn't let it simmer long enough. I usually add some rosemary, salt and pepper while it's simmering. My boyfriend loves this recipe and always requests me to make it! THANKYOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
I thought that this dish was missing something. It came out a lot more watery than I would have expected. I added heavy cream to give it density and make it more hearty. In the end it turned out good but I still would have liked it a little thicker like most other pea soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
WOnderful recipe. I added onion (about half of one), chopped in the cuisinart along with the carrots and celery. Sauteed them in olive oil before adding to the peas. Sprinkled some pepper and garlic powder in and added maybe 1/2 cup of half and half towards the end. Soup needs to cook at least one hour to be thick enough but is really worth it! (Even my 1 yr old loved it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I used the recipe, but opted to put a little bacon in it and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
As simple as this recipe was, it was delicious! My family felt like it was at least equal to Pea Soup Andersons' (the actual restaurant). I think I might have used more broth than water. But the trick is to blend the whole thing once it's done cooking. That makes it so creamy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great soup. Simple and delicious. I did add a bit of bacon and some seasonings. It was THICK and hearty. I believe the trick is to not rush it and it thickens beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatPurrson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Really good base recipe. I added more spices per other reviewers. Sauteed some garlic, onions, carrots and celery in olive oil. Than added the broth, water and split peas and it took about 3 hours to cook down. Good consistency if you just let it cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I have been hungry for split pea soup, this sure hit the spot! I added garlic and a bay leaf, simmered for an hour or so. It turned very thick at the end, so I guess next time I shouldn't simmer quite so long. I'm sure to make this often over the long winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
awesome~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNCOLLEGEGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States