Split Pea Soup without Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Good basic soup, not great. I sautéed onion, celery and carrots with olive oil and I also added a bay leave. It turned out very thick and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
A great basic recipe for a winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Yum! I made this soup and my husband said he didn't like split pea soup, but he ate two bowls once he tasted it. It cooked down to a perfect thickness in just under 2 hours. I did add an onion and minced garlic and sautéed it all in olive oil first as some suggested. We loved it- healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I have been hungry for split pea soup, this sure hit the spot! I added garlic and a bay leaf, simmered for an hour or so. It turned very thick at the end, so I guess next time I shouldn't simmer quite so long. I'm sure to make this often over the long winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
There is such a thing as good pea soup that doesn't have pork in it. I do like a little bit of a richer flavor, so I added 1/2 and onion and a clove of garlic the the other veggies. One thing about split pea soup is that to get it thick you really have to cook it. Every stove is a little different -cooking time was fine, and so was the liquid amount, you just have to figure out what level simmer you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Having Celiac disease, I was excited to find this delicious recipe. It came out very well. Super easy, inexpensive to make, and lasted a long time. Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is so easy and very economical. I did cut back on the water and added a few more seasonings to give the flavor a boost (pinch of garlic salt and sage). Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWIN76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This was delish and so easy! I replaced chicken broth with 4 cups of veggie broth instead (cubed bouillion and water version) added a 1/4 cup of dry white wine and some finely chopped onion simmered very slowly stirring on occassion. It was wonderfully thick and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbarellabda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I make my split pea almost the exact same way. I add half an onion and 1-2 cloves of garlic. I cheat with the carrots and buy the shredded ones. Works great! Some people like it smooth. For a different texture you can put it through a blender in batches. If the soup is too watery (there are two styles), it cooks down rather rapidly. Just know that thick left over split pea soup will look a lot like Campbell's Condense. You'll have to add water. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Very Good. I added about half of a small chopped white onion, a couple tbs. minced garlic, and a tbs thyme to add more flavor. I had to let it simmer for about 2 1/2 hours to get it thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States