Split Pea Soup without Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great soup. Simple and delicious. I did add a bit of bacon and some seasonings. It was THICK and hearty. I believe the trick is to not rush it and it thickens beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatPurrson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Having Celiac disease, I was excited to find this delicious recipe. It came out very well. Super easy, inexpensive to make, and lasted a long time. Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I have made it several times and it's always great. I've always had to leave it on the stove a little longer then the recipe says (2 1/2 - 3 hours) but it is well worth it! The reason some people may have found it watery is because they didn't let it simmer long enough. I usually add some rosemary, salt and pepper while it's simmering. My boyfriend loves this recipe and always requests me to make it! THANKYOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Delicious, thisck and very filling soup! I doubled the recipe and freeze some. I sauted an onion and the carrots and celery in the pot before adding the stock. I also added a bay leaf and garlic powder and some thyme. I let it simmer for 2 1/2 - 3 hours to make sure the split peas got all mushy and made the soup thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
As simple as this recipe was, it was delicious! My family felt like it was at least equal to Pea Soup Andersons' (the actual restaurant). I think I might have used more broth than water. But the trick is to blend the whole thing once it's done cooking. That makes it so creamy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was very good. It was great to have a soup without the pork. I added onion and extra carrots, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Very Good. I added about half of a small chopped white onion, a couple tbs. minced garlic, and a tbs thyme to add more flavor. I had to let it simmer for about 2 1/2 hours to get it thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I make my split pea almost the exact same way. I add half an onion and 1-2 cloves of garlic. I cheat with the carrots and buy the shredded ones. Works great! Some people like it smooth. For a different texture you can put it through a blender in batches. If the soup is too watery (there are two styles), it cooks down rather rapidly. Just know that thick left over split pea soup will look a lot like Campbell's Condense. You'll have to add water. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This was delish and so easy! I replaced chicken broth with 4 cups of veggie broth instead (cubed bouillion and water version) added a 1/4 cup of dry white wine and some finely chopped onion simmered very slowly stirring on occassion. It was wonderfully thick and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbarellabda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is so easy and very economical. I did cut back on the water and added a few more seasonings to give the flavor a boost (pinch of garlic salt and sage). Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWIN76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States