Split Pea Soup without Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
I thought that this dish was missing something. It came out a lot more watery than I would have expected. I added heavy cream to give it density and make it more hearty. In the end it turned out good but I still would have liked it a little thicker like most other pea soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
This recipe was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
A little watery for my personal taste. I followed the advise of another and added heavy cream and it was a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I used the recipe, but opted to put a little bacon in it and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Good basic recipe, although it was definitely too watery. I added heavy cream and some onions and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holtville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I added garlic and onions but I loved this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I have made it several times and it's always great. I've always had to leave it on the stove a little longer then the recipe says (2 1/2 - 3 hours) but it is well worth it! The reason some people may have found it watery is because they didn't let it simmer long enough. I usually add some rosemary, salt and pepper while it's simmering. My boyfriend loves this recipe and always requests me to make it! THANKYOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Delicious, thisck and very filling soup! I doubled the recipe and freeze some. I sauted an onion and the carrots and celery in the pot before adding the stock. I also added a bay leaf and garlic powder and some thyme. I let it simmer for 2 1/2 - 3 hours to make sure the split peas got all mushy and made the soup thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
WOnderful recipe. I added onion (about half of one), chopped in the cuisinart along with the carrots and celery. Sauteed them in olive oil before adding to the peas. Sprinkled some pepper and garlic powder in and added maybe 1/2 cup of half and half towards the end. Soup needs to cook at least one hour to be thick enough but is really worth it! (Even my 1 yr old loved it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I used less water and broth (about 3 1/2 cups total), added thyme and garlic. Delicious and ridiculously easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States