Split Pea Soup without Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was very good. It was great to have a soup without the pork. I added onion and extra carrots, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
So easy, and even the baby ate it. I left half the peas out, then added them halfway through the cooking time to have some peas still recognizable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Very good. I let it simmer an extra long time and had to add water from time to time but it turned out nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Loved it! Had absolutely no problem with it cooking down and creating a nice thick split pea soup without all the fat and salt of adding pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is a great simple recipe. I did a bit of tweeking. Sauted onions, sweet pepper, garlic, chives, thyme, and celery in some evoo before adding the chicken stock ans peas. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon of geram masala. My soup was ready in under and hour as HINT: I SOAKED THE PEAS IN WATER OVERNIGHT!(2 times as much water as peas, throwing off the original water when i was ready to cook) this will help with cooking times and cause the peas to reach the desired consistency faster/more easily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great soup. Simple and delicious. I did add a bit of bacon and some seasonings. It was THICK and hearty. I believe the trick is to not rush it and it thickens beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatPurrson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
As simple as this recipe was, it was delicious! My family felt like it was at least equal to Pea Soup Andersons' (the actual restaurant). I think I might have used more broth than water. But the trick is to blend the whole thing once it's done cooking. That makes it so creamy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I used less water and broth (about 3 1/2 cups total), added thyme and garlic. Delicious and ridiculously easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
WOnderful recipe. I added onion (about half of one), chopped in the cuisinart along with the carrots and celery. Sauteed them in olive oil before adding to the peas. Sprinkled some pepper and garlic powder in and added maybe 1/2 cup of half and half towards the end. Soup needs to cook at least one hour to be thick enough but is really worth it! (Even my 1 yr old loved it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Delicious, thisck and very filling soup! I doubled the recipe and freeze some. I sauted an onion and the carrots and celery in the pot before adding the stock. I also added a bay leaf and garlic powder and some thyme. I let it simmer for 2 1/2 - 3 hours to make sure the split peas got all mushy and made the soup thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States