Split Pea Soup without Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Good basic soup, not great. I sautéed onion, celery and carrots with olive oil and I also added a bay leave. It turned out very thick and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
A great basic recipe for a winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Yum! I made this soup and my husband said he didn't like split pea soup, but he ate two bowls once he tasted it. It cooked down to a perfect thickness in just under 2 hours. I did add an onion and minced garlic and sautéed it all in olive oil first as some suggested. We loved it- healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I have been hungry for split pea soup, this sure hit the spot! I added garlic and a bay leaf, simmered for an hour or so. It turned very thick at the end, so I guess next time I shouldn't simmer quite so long. I'm sure to make this often over the long winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
There is such a thing as good pea soup that doesn't have pork in it. I do like a little bit of a richer flavor, so I added 1/2 and onion and a clove of garlic the the other veggies. One thing about split pea soup is that to get it thick you really have to cook it. Every stove is a little different -cooking time was fine, and so was the liquid amount, you just have to figure out what level simmer you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Having Celiac disease, I was excited to find this delicious recipe. It came out very well. Super easy, inexpensive to make, and lasted a long time. Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is so easy and very economical. I did cut back on the water and added a few more seasonings to give the flavor a boost (pinch of garlic salt and sage). Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWIN76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This was delish and so easy! I replaced chicken broth with 4 cups of veggie broth instead (cubed bouillion and water version) added a 1/4 cup of dry white wine and some finely chopped onion simmered very slowly stirring on occassion. It was wonderfully thick and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbarellabda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I make my split pea almost the exact same way. I add half an onion and 1-2 cloves of garlic. I cheat with the carrots and buy the shredded ones. Works great! Some people like it smooth. For a different texture you can put it through a blender in batches. If the soup is too watery (there are two styles), it cooks down rather rapidly. Just know that thick left over split pea soup will look a lot like Campbell's Condense. You'll have to add water. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Very Good. I added about half of a small chopped white onion, a couple tbs. minced garlic, and a tbs thyme to add more flavor. I had to let it simmer for about 2 1/2 hours to get it thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States