Split Pea Soup with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Absolutely stellar. The color scared me, so I used frozen spinach (and frozen tofu). The blend of flavors is outstanding. And, best of all, it's EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Amazing soup - took less time to cook. Didn't blend the spinach and tofu together since I didn't want a creamy texture. Basil is perfect touch. Resulted in a very hearty soup and with banging flavour. Perfect for any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I tend to read recipes to get a general idea of what I need, then work on a whim with few measurements and whatever substitutions intrigue me. I used frozen green peas instead of dry split peas just cuz I like them better, and I used purple potatoes instead of red because I had just read an article about them before finding this recipe. :) They added a very nice pop of color, as did the carrots. I wish I had a yellow vegetable to throw in and then it would have been visually perfect! haha I also did half spinach, half kale in the tofu mixture for an even greater variety of nutrients, and I pureed some of the peas with the tofu. Definitely gonna make this again - probably right after I run out of this batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Trying to add a healthy option for soups. Was disappointed but I will try again. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Really delicious and so healthy! I'm loving this for lunch at work and feeling great about the amount of sodium compared with most soups. You can add a little smoked paprika or hot sauce if you want to "kick it up" a little bit more, too. Who knew that tofu and spinach blended is so good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
All I had was lentils to work with so used those. I had to cut back on the cooking time, maybe 45 minutes tops. I have never made a more delicious lentil soup. My kids had seconds after having it for lunch and dinner on the same day! Even lentil soup with ham or other meats havent come close to how good this is. BTW it is better the next day or even after about 10 hours or so. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I made this the first time when I thought I had split peas in the pantry, but they were actually lentils. I went ahead and used them and added a large can of crushed tomatoes and oregano. It was delicious! I later made it with split peas, but I think I like the lentils better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Gotta give this one 5 stars. I made a big batch and I find myself looking forward to eating it. It's wonderfully hearty, warm and nourishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
When I think of pea soup I think of swampy coloured grey mush that has been boiled to oblivion. This soup is completely opposite to that. It's a lovely colour of green, so it somehow transforms pea soup from a cold winter soup, to a light spring soup. I love how fresh it tastes. I can't taste to tofu or soy in the least. I know that this defeats the purpose of a vegan soup, but I garnished it with a little bit of goat cheese and it was delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I didn't have split peas, so I used lentils. I also used firm tofu instead of soft, and didn't have basil but added chili powder. It was delicious! Works really well with lentils, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States