Split Pea Soup with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Wonderful taste! I think that next time, I will just add the onion to the soup base instead of frying it. It may only be a few calories cut, but the good, rich flavor will still be there! I left out the salt, thinking that is a personal preference.The color of this soup is truly a green delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Hearty and delicious! We added extra red potatoes and needed to cook the soup longer than two hours to ensure that the peas and potatoes were done. This soup is a keeper for vegetarians and meat eaters alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Excelent. Never had tofu before, and it was great witht he spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was a great vegitarian recipe! Even my finicky 3 year old loved it-after being forced to taste it. I ended cooking it a little longer and mashed the peas and potatoes with a potato masher before serving it to give it a creamier texture. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chadfucius

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is a very good recipe. I added 1 cup of diced rutabaga and increased the broth from 4 cups to 6. I also used frozen spinach instead of fresh (lack of availability) and skipped the blender bit. Instead, I diced very firm tofu and just added it with the spinach and cooked a bit longer. The blender bit gives it a strange kind of green color that's not so appetizing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Great recipe. I added chopped broccoli and smart bacon. I didn’t add any seasoning beyond some ground pepper (but I love split pea soup). I ended up pureeing the entire mixture for that smooth consistency. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
this soup was so yummy & filling! I actually forgot to throw in the basil & pepper but it still came out so so yummy. I will definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I love this recipe! I always substitute the tofu for an avocado as suggested by another reviewer. I also add celery to the potato/carrot mixture and I add mushrooms to the onion/garlic mixture. Though I was worried about the *very* green look, the five little kids I served loved it, as did their meat-loving 'no weird stuff in my food' father.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Absolutely delicious. The spinach adds a beautiful deep green, as well as the extra vitamin punch, and I love how creamy the tofu makes it. Remember that the potatoes soak up the salt and the soup may need re-salting the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I used firm tofu and frozen chopped spinach because I had it on hand. I also added a cup of frozen corn. I used a stick blender to mix up the tofu and spinach right in the soup. What a nice change from traditional pea soup. Can't beat the added protein from the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States