Split Pea Soup with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I used half the tofu and added a whole avocado, extra spinach, and a handful of alfalfa sprouts (why not?) to the blender mixture. I think it toned down the crazy color. It was super yummy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I used firm tofu and frozen chopped spinach because I had it on hand. I also added a cup of frozen corn. I used a stick blender to mix up the tofu and spinach right in the soup. What a nice change from traditional pea soup. Can't beat the added protein from the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I did not care for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Yummy! I only had firm tofu on hand and it worked very well. I added some smoked paprika at the end to give it the smokiness that I thought it was missing. If you like spicy food, you could also add ground chipotle peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmihal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Wonderful taste! I think that next time, I will just add the onion to the soup base instead of frying it. It may only be a few calories cut, but the good, rich flavor will still be there! I left out the salt, thinking that is a personal preference.The color of this soup is truly a green delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Absolutely delicious. The spinach adds a beautiful deep green, as well as the extra vitamin punch, and I love how creamy the tofu makes it. Remember that the potatoes soak up the salt and the soup may need re-salting the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I love this recipe! I always substitute the tofu for an avocado as suggested by another reviewer. I also add celery to the potato/carrot mixture and I add mushrooms to the onion/garlic mixture. Though I was worried about the *very* green look, the five little kids I served loved it, as did their meat-loving 'no weird stuff in my food' father.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
this soup was so yummy & filling! I actually forgot to throw in the basil & pepper but it still came out so so yummy. I will definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
felt the need to review this recipe in particular ... amazing nutritional value which is exactly what i'm looking for right now .. the colour was kind of scary and it was a bit bland, but adding half a jar of spicy salsa made all the difference. 4 stars for the recipe as is , 5 with salsa ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
First I lost the Olive oil because it doesn't do a darn thing for the recipe outside of creating a fat base to cook in. I did the onion, garlic and my addition of mushrooms in the vegetable broth. I also used 10 ounces Frozen Spinach because I forgot to buy it. I also used Mori Nu Firm. The base before the addition of the spinach would be great alone. Wonderful flavor. The Tofu/Spinach addition changed it enough that since we don't use salt, I added Mrs. Dash Tomato, onion and herb seasoning to taste [which means a LOT in our case.] To assist the mushrooms in providing the deeper tone that meat would provide, I added a tiny bit of Hickory Liquid Smoke. It was thick and it cooked very fast however I have a stove with cast iron burners so this will make a BIG difference. It took an hour to cook totally for me. It did need additions of Vegetable Broth but since I always keep a large supply on hand this was not a problem. Simply add as needed. I pureed at the end. Then added more broth as needed to desired consistancy and heated, served. I never made a cream soup where I didn't have to adjust at the end for desired thickness. It's common sense. Oh I also used regular potatoes. They worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States