Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Great recipe! I followed the recipe and it came out perfect! I do recommend blending it all together at the end if you like the traditional creamy consistency of pea soup. Used tried Rosemary and it worked fine. I didn't need to salt the soup at all. The bacon gives the soup the perfect saltiness already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
A very simple and delicious recipe. My only change was to omit the bacon as I wanted to use up some ham in this. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This soup was amazing! Even my 11 month old loved it! Instead of bacon I used ham, but I did saute all the veggies in bacon grease..mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyFrazer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I used maple bacon and it turned out really good. I had to add a fair amount of salt and pepper at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Made this soup on a cloudy, cool, rainy day in Southwest Florida. Yes, Florida. I added a smoked ham hock and some jalepeno hot sauce, as well as some cooking sherry, about a quarter cup, and about a half teaspoon of ground cloves. I let the soup simmer all day, which softened the carrots, onions, and the split peas. I used a potato masher to mash some of the peas in the pot at the end of the cooking time rather than pureeing them. The aroma of this soup cooking, wafting throughout the entire house, was wonderful. And so was the soup. I served the soup with warm, buttered rolls. Yum. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jilltn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very tasty soup!!! Loved the texture, smoky flavor, leeks are wonderful too! My husband doesn't like texture in anything so I pureed his. You loose something by blending it all up. Loved everything but the soggy bacon in the finished soup. Next time I will cook bacon and set it aside to crumble over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
great flavor....we like thick soups as well and this is nicely textured
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I have made this recipe several times. It is easy and delicious. You don't have to follow the recipe exactly to get a good result. It is very forgiving! I usually double it so I can freeze some. I always put on the rosemary, but it does not seem to add much flavor that I can tell. I like the bacon. It sure beats a ham bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This is wounderful soup, espicially the next day!!! Didn't have any leeks so just used more onions. I like bacon so I used an extra slice, the only other thing is that it could use salt and pepper while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is the perfect split pea soup! And - it is extremely easy to make! I added some small chunks of ham toward the end of cooking - no need to cook with the shank bone for days...the flavor in this soup is amazing as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States