Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I used maple bacon and it turned out really good. I had to add a fair amount of salt and pepper at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Made this soup on a cloudy, cool, rainy day in Southwest Florida. Yes, Florida. I added a smoked ham hock and some jalepeno hot sauce, as well as some cooking sherry, about a quarter cup, and about a half teaspoon of ground cloves. I let the soup simmer all day, which softened the carrots, onions, and the split peas. I used a potato masher to mash some of the peas in the pot at the end of the cooking time rather than pureeing them. The aroma of this soup cooking, wafting throughout the entire house, was wonderful. And so was the soup. I served the soup with warm, buttered rolls. Yum. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jilltn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very tasty soup!!! Loved the texture, smoky flavor, leeks are wonderful too! My husband doesn't like texture in anything so I pureed his. You loose something by blending it all up. Loved everything but the soggy bacon in the finished soup. Next time I will cook bacon and set it aside to crumble over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
great flavor....we like thick soups as well and this is nicely textured
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I have made this recipe several times. It is easy and delicious. You don't have to follow the recipe exactly to get a good result. It is very forgiving! I usually double it so I can freeze some. I always put on the rosemary, but it does not seem to add much flavor that I can tell. I like the bacon. It sure beats a ham bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This is wounderful soup, espicially the next day!!! Didn't have any leeks so just used more onions. I like bacon so I used an extra slice, the only other thing is that it could use salt and pepper while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is the perfect split pea soup! And - it is extremely easy to make! I added some small chunks of ham toward the end of cooking - no need to cook with the shank bone for days...the flavor in this soup is amazing as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This recipe is a keeper! It is simple and delicious. I omitted the bacon. Will try it in the crock pot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
LOVELY, TASTY AND VERY EASY. MY HUBBY AND I ENJOYED THIS SOUP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
The only thing I added was chopped celery and red pepper and I didn't use the leek. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and my husband and I thought it was delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States