Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Used celery instead of leeks and boullion cubes instead of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travinka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is SO GOOD! I cooked the bacon and then reserved it, because I hate rubbery bacon. Followed the directions with the exception that I didn't measure the rosermary, just eyeballed it (and was generous). After the one hour of simmering, the consistency was soft but with texture-very nice. I added the bacon back in and just gave a few bursts of my immersion blender to help chop the bacon and blend a tiny bit of peas. This soup was a hit with my kids and boyfriend, and I will make it a regular in my soup rotation. It's AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I have to say I was very skeptical of this recipe being that the cooking time was so much shorter than I'm used to in the crock pot!. i was craving split pea soup, and it was much too late to use the crock pot, so I tried this one! I loved it! The peas turned out perfectly cooked, and the flavor was just as I hoped it would be. The consistency was perfect, not too watery or thick. I didn't have leeks or bacon, and I was leery of using garlic, since I didn't want an overly garlic flavor. It was perfect for me! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is the PERFECT split pea soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeqJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Wow. this recipe is just as good as everyone said, if not even better! I didn't even add salt and pepper, just didn't need it. I also skipped the bay leaf since i don't cook with bay very often and I didn't want to buy it at the store. One note, the green split peas work dried. I wasn't sure if I needed to precook them or what since it doesn't specify, but I put them in dry and they turned out great. I let the soup simmer an extra hour too since i was busy around the house and the consistency was perfect. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Healthy version, no bacon, replace w/2T's olive oil, used 4 cubes of low-sodium organic vegetable broth (found at Whole Foods) in the 42 oz. of water. Love the Rosemary flavor in this soup, I double the carrots. Also like to double recipe b/c it freezes well. My husband loves this soup! Thanks for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bake24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Personally, I thought that the rosemary did not compliment the soup much, and the whole thing could use some more flavor. But, we ate it, and that's what counts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I've made this twice now and both times it turned out fantastic. It's a very forgiving recipe too-one time I didn't have leeks, rosemary, bacon or carrots so I just used extra onion, oregano and turkey sausage and it still turned out fantastic. The only problem I ran into was cook time-mine took over 2 and half hours to get to the consistency we like it at, but I also live at a high altitude which could be why it took so long to cook. Even if you don't think you like split pea soup you should give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msimps14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
So my daughter gave me a bag of split peas and I was like....ugh! Split pea soup is one of the few things I'm really not fond of. But I thought I'd give allrecipes a try and I'm glad I did. This was a great soup that the whole family liked. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I couldn't find fresh split peas at the market, so used frozen. I think fresh might be even better. I made it on the stovetop as the recipe called for, however, think the crockpot would be a great alternative. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States