Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Incredibly delicious recipe!!!! Oh my goodness, the aroma will bring you to your knees, so be prepared for torture!!! I made seemingly minor changes, but significant in terms of final outcome. They are as follows: 4 slices of THICK SLICE bacon. I'm always a fan of thick slice anyway, but when you crisp it there's still a nice piece of meaty bacon left. As far as cooking the veggies in the bacon grease, I ladled out all but a 1-2 tbsp, which was more than adequate and cuts down on fat considerably. I only had 1 can of low sodium chix broth in the pantry, so I used that and completed the liquid requirement with simply water and 1 chicken bouillon cube. Still plently salty (remember there is bacon in here!!!) and this gives you the option to salt to taste when served. 1 clove of garlic instead of two. Just a personal preference. There are a lot of delightful flavors in this soup. Didn't want any one thing to take over!!! Served it with a rustic, whole grain bread and olive oil for dipping. Truly Heaven on Earth!!! The rosemary is amazing in it. DON'T USED DRIED OR OMIT!!! It's sooooooo worth spending a couple dolllars on. Bon apetit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I had leftover ham from Easter in the freezer, so I used that instead of the bacon. I followed the recipe exactly after that, and it turned out beautifully. I have tried one other split pea soup recipe and this one tops it. I would make croutons to go with this next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herriman, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was very, very good! I wasn't sure about adding rosemary to pea soup but am glad I did! It gave the soup a subtle flavor that was different from all other pea soups I have had. I did not have bacon but had a leftover ham bone which I used instead. Also used an onion instead of a leek. Though I subbed out 2 ingredients it was the rosemary that "made" this soup! Threw it all in the slow cooker for several hours - awesome on a chilly Wyoming evening (even if it WAS the middle of May! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debonweb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I make it without the bacon altogether and still love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was yummy. I used my left over ham and ham bone from my Easter ham instead of bacon, used low sodium chicken broth and it was delicious. After one hour of cooking, I removed the ham bone and bay leaves and put it in the blender on puree. I then added it back to the pan, added another 1 1/2 cups of broth, 1/2 teaspoon of liquid smoke and one cup of diced ham and heated through. Very tasty and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I used half the bacon and dried rosemary plus extra vegetables and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This was delicious! We are adding it to our family list of repeat recipes; we will make it again! I didn't have bacon on hand, so I used vegetable oil to fry the onions, leeks, etc. and I also added 6T. of store-bought bacon bits to this step. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This is the first time I've made split pea soup. Another reviewer remarked that it took a lot longer than 1hr 15 min to soften the peas. I agree, more like three hours. It could have had more rosemary. Just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was an easy recipe and my daughter who will not eat peas or leeks gobbled it up. The measurements of each ingred. was perfect and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States