Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My daughter and I made this tonight. We both LOVED it. And she was so proud of her creation. This was excellent! I did use another recipes suggestion on cutting down the soak time by simmering them for 2 minutes then letting them soak an hour. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
the flavor was wonderful; however, there is just no way that the split peas will be done within the cooking time indicated. I put everything in a crockpot - on high - as I had seen suggestions to do this; however, after almost 5 hours, the peas still weren't done. I transferred all to my dutch oven and boiled everything for another 45 minutes or so. Next time I will first cook my peas for about an hour and let them sit for another hour and then add all other ingredients. Other than that, it was a wonderful soup. I do miss my ham though and will probably use ham instead of bacon next time. Just save your bacon grease and saute your onions and leaks for your next pot of yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Harbor City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
So Yummy! Added a ham bone too since I had one - bacon is great and fresh rosemary is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup! I used the ham bone in place of bacon as advised by RandyRandy. Instead of chopping my rosemary, I just grabbed a couple sprigs from the garden and threw them in the pot. I didn't have leeks and it still turned out delicious. If you like your pea soup on the thick side (as I do) I would recommend simmering closer to two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassycincy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colebrook, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Incredibly flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Incredibly delicious recipe!!!! Oh my goodness, the aroma will bring you to your knees, so be prepared for torture!!! I made seemingly minor changes, but significant in terms of final outcome. They are as follows: 4 slices of THICK SLICE bacon. I'm always a fan of thick slice anyway, but when you crisp it there's still a nice piece of meaty bacon left. As far as cooking the veggies in the bacon grease, I ladled out all but a 1-2 tbsp, which was more than adequate and cuts down on fat considerably. I only had 1 can of low sodium chix broth in the pantry, so I used that and completed the liquid requirement with simply water and 1 chicken bouillon cube. Still plently salty (remember there is bacon in here!!!) and this gives you the option to salt to taste when served. 1 clove of garlic instead of two. Just a personal preference. There are a lot of delightful flavors in this soup. Didn't want any one thing to take over!!! Served it with a rustic, whole grain bread and olive oil for dipping. Truly Heaven on Earth!!! The rosemary is amazing in it. DON'T USED DRIED OR OMIT!!! It's sooooooo worth spending a couple dolllars on. Bon apetit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I had leftover ham from Easter in the freezer, so I used that instead of the bacon. I followed the recipe exactly after that, and it turned out beautifully. I have tried one other split pea soup recipe and this one tops it. I would make croutons to go with this next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herriman, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was very, very good! I wasn't sure about adding rosemary to pea soup but am glad I did! It gave the soup a subtle flavor that was different from all other pea soups I have had. I did not have bacon but had a leftover ham bone which I used instead. Also used an onion instead of a leek. Though I subbed out 2 ingredients it was the rosemary that "made" this soup! Threw it all in the slow cooker for several hours - awesome on a chilly Wyoming evening (even if it WAS the middle of May! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debonweb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I make it without the bacon altogether and still love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States