Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Loved this recipe. I used turkey bacon for less fat. Just before serving, I put through a blender (avoiding the bacon pieces) for smoother consistency. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was very good. I didn't add bacon and just started sautéing the veggies. I used 3 small leeks a full 16 oz bag of peas and about 42 oz of chicken broth. I added a tsp of salt and pepper. This is very satisfying soup. I froze my batch to pop in the microwave for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by mnr986
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Maybe I was expecting it to be more flavorful. But it is split pea soup, so I know I shouldn't be disappointed. I added some curry to give it a kick but it still wasn't very interesting to eat. A positive is that the soup smelled AMAZING. Changes - I used low sodium chicken broth, turkey bacon, and shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnr986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Love this recipe. I cook the peasand the bacon together until peas are soft. Then I purée them and then add the ham. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Prospect, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Tried this recipe as written and it took 3 hours for the peas to cook. No idea where the "1 hour" comes from. Knowing that, however, I'll just plan better because this is definitely a soup I will make more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Delicious and easy to make soup! I removed the bacon from the pan after it was done cooking as I did not want it to burn while the veggies were cooking, then added the bacon back along with the broth. I added some chopped acorn squash since I had it on hand and it was a very tasty addition. Also added about a 1/2 teaspoon salt a little pepper when it was done cooking. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This soup is wonderful. I'm making it right now for probably the fifth time. The aroma is intoxicating! I normally add sliced rookworst (smoked sausage)to make it more Dutch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Good. I added potatoes. Since I didn't have bay leaves I subbed thyme, however I wasn't in love with the flavors -- I was thinking it was the rosemary I didn't like, but it could have been the thyme or the combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
best in the west----don't get any better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Extremely Tasty Soup! The only thing different was that I forgot the Rosemary and it still came out real delicious! I will make again tomorrow (after a few weeks since I've first made it) and will keep it as a normal recipe in my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States