Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Delicious and easy to make soup! I removed the bacon from the pan after it was done cooking as I did not want it to burn while the veggies were cooking, then added the bacon back along with the broth. I added some chopped acorn squash since I had it on hand and it was a very tasty addition. Also added about a 1/2 teaspoon salt a little pepper when it was done cooking. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This soup is wonderful. I'm making it right now for probably the fifth time. The aroma is intoxicating! I normally add sliced rookworst (smoked sausage)to make it more Dutch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Good. I added potatoes. Since I didn't have bay leaves I subbed thyme, however I wasn't in love with the flavors -- I was thinking it was the rosemary I didn't like, but it could have been the thyme or the combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
best in the west----don't get any better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Extremely Tasty Soup! The only thing different was that I forgot the Rosemary and it still came out real delicious! I will make again tomorrow (after a few weeks since I've first made it) and will keep it as a normal recipe in my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My daughter and I made this tonight. We both LOVED it. And she was so proud of her creation. This was excellent! I did use another recipes suggestion on cutting down the soak time by simmering them for 2 minutes then letting them soak an hour. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
the flavor was wonderful; however, there is just no way that the split peas will be done within the cooking time indicated. I put everything in a crockpot - on high - as I had seen suggestions to do this; however, after almost 5 hours, the peas still weren't done. I transferred all to my dutch oven and boiled everything for another 45 minutes or so. Next time I will first cook my peas for about an hour and let them sit for another hour and then add all other ingredients. Other than that, it was a wonderful soup. I do miss my ham though and will probably use ham instead of bacon next time. Just save your bacon grease and saute your onions and leaks for your next pot of yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Harbor City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
So Yummy! Added a ham bone too since I had one - bacon is great and fresh rosemary is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup! I used the ham bone in place of bacon as advised by RandyRandy. Instead of chopping my rosemary, I just grabbed a couple sprigs from the garden and threw them in the pot. I didn't have leeks and it still turned out delicious. If you like your pea soup on the thick side (as I do) I would recommend simmering closer to two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassycincy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colebrook, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Incredibly flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States