Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Rosemary is my new favorite so I thought I would give this a try. Glad I did. I had never had pea soup before and I was plesantly surprised with how good it was. I did not have bacon...didn't know I was out so I used a bit of turkey kielbasa. The results were fantastic. My husband couldn't wait to take the leftovers for lunch. Even the kids liked it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Photo by VelvetMarmoset
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Excellent, no-hassle soup. I didn't have leeks or carrots and thus left them out, and it was still delicious. I only added a leaf or two of fresh sage and a sprinkle of fresh thyme. My split peas took about 1.5 hours to cook, and I simmered a further hour or so on very low heat to let the flavors develop. It was even better reheated on the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VelvetMarmoset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Loved this one! I found it because I just thought that bacon and split pea would be a good cobination. Wonderful flavor. Reconstituted my own chicken stock from Better Than Boulion and added a whole Tbsp of dried rosemary. So yummy! Next time I will cook up a couple extra strips of back to crumble and sprinkle in each bowl while eating. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDENICOL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Not only easy but also very tasty! It was a little salty so next time I might use sodium free broth. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I love this recipe! The flavor is excellent and very comforting. I've made it several time...definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Because I am vegetarian, I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth, and a dash of smoke flavoring for the bacon. This was a delicious soup, and fairly quick to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I used homemade vegetable stock instead of chicken stock and I omitted the leek. It turned out so great, though it thickens up the next day. Rosemary and peas pair very, very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This soup was wonderful!!!! I loved it, instead of bacon I used country ham and it was really good. I also had to let it simmer for 2 hours for the peas to soften up, other than that I didn't change anything. The rosemary added an excellent flavor, my husband loved it. I plan to make another batch tonight to freeze since I have some leeks and split peas left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
It's easy to prepare, smells wonderful, and my husband absolutely loves it. I used dried rosemary, and served it with cornbread. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Yum! Thanks for the recipe! I had substituted bacon for turkey bacon and it came out great! You can also add ham base for more flavor vs chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States