Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Because I am vegetarian, I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth, and a dash of smoke flavoring for the bacon. This was a delicious soup, and fairly quick to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Excellent! Instead of bacon I used a leftover ham bone from Thanksgiving. I threw it all in a crockpot, cooked it all day, and then puréed it in the blender. Be very careful how much salt you add as the ham should have most of what you need. Save the salting for last. If you do oversalt, simply mix in small amounts of heavy cream after you purée.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyRandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipe got rave reviews from a bunch of my friends who claim to not even like split pea soup. My adjustments were: I dumped everything in a crockpot. No pre-sauteeing, wanted to see how easy I could make it. My other adjustments were similar to other peoples (bouillon instead of broth, no leeks, dried rosemary.) I saw multiple people mention needing to puree this; if you leave it all day in a crock pot this isn't necessary. I also added some green beans, which was a nice touch. All day in a crock pot was fine for the carrots and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I am not one to use any one recipe over and over again as I believe there may always be a better recipe out there somewhere. This recipe is one of the few exceptions for me. As I eat very little meat, I leave out the bacon, but I don't feel that it really detracts from the soup overall. Good stuff. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This soup was easy to make and very tasty. In the future I will go with the low sodium broth and probably sub in some water for some of the broth. I used dried rosemary instead of fresh since I have quite a bit of it in my cupboards. Also I used turkey bacon instead of regular bacon to cut down on some of the calories and fat. The turkey bacon provided a very nice flavor. I prepped the first part of the ingredients in my cast iron skillet, while heating the broth in my crockpot on high. Once my veggies were softened I transferred the peas and the veggies into the crockpot on high for about an hour and then I turned it down on low to allow it to simmer. This approach might work for someone who doesn't have a lot of free time or works all day and would like to have the soup ready for dinner. Just do the prep work and soften the veggies on the stove top and allow the soup to cook all day on low (I kept it on high because I wanted to see how it would turn out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I love this simple, satisfying soup. I use pepper bacon for a nice kick, and add lots of fresh ground pepper to the broth. I use two 32oz boxes of low sodium chicken broth for a nice balanced consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is wonderful soup. I'm a big soup person and this was exactly what I wanted. I have only ever had pea & ham soup. The bacon was very nice. Will def. make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LimeGreenKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manning, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Very tasty, but out of necessity I made a few changes. I didn't have bacon so I threw a pork chop in, substituted my green onions for the small onion, and used the vegetable broth that I already had. Even after making all these changes and measuring like a bachelor, the soup was fantabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
What a nice soup! It was easy to make and just right for a Sunday night supper. I didn't want to buy a whole package of leeks to use just one, so I left that out. Also, I used 2 cans of broth and 2 cans of water and then sprinkled in a little chicken bullion. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
WOW! This soup is de-li-cious! The rosemary makes it great and I liked using bacon instead of ham. Also, all the veggies made the soup so different from other split pea soups. I will make this one again, and again, and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States