Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My husband and I absolutely did not like this soup, even though we are big fans of peas. I could not get the split peas to soften even after increasing their cooking time quite a bit. I ended up throwing out the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was a decent split pea soup, but I've tried other recipes that I thought were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This soup is fantastic! I use low sodium broth and substitute ham for the bacon and it still turns out great! This soup also does really well in the crock pot, just throw everything together and set on high for 6-7 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is a great way to jazz up split pea soup. I use turkey bacon and leave out the leeks. This recipe also freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very good soup. I made this in the crock pot and used some ham i had at home. delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was really good! I pureed the whole soup because it didn't look that appetizing. Next time, I will add something to give it some heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyw73
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Delicious, hearty soup that makes for great comfort food. I followed the suggestions of others, omitting the leek and using low sodium broth due to the salt level of the bacon. Dry rosemary works fine, though I would love to try it with fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I loved this soup. I made this last night for my sick boyfriend who was craving split pea soup. He loved it, as did I! I added extra garlic. Rosemary and bay leaves give it that extra flavor. YUM! Even if you don't think you or your family like split pea soup, I'd try this anyway because it is GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Fabulous soup as is, but I needed a kick. Added red pepper flakes with the veggies, fresh green peas just before the soup finished cooking; sprinkled chopped cilantro, serrano peppers for garnish; salt & pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
To be fair, I don't have any split peas so I just instead, use 2 cups frozen peas. it was still awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States