Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Healthy version, no bacon, replace w/2T's olive oil, used 4 cubes of low-sodium organic vegetable broth (found at Whole Foods) in the 42 oz. of water. Love the Rosemary flavor in this soup, I double the carrots. Also like to double recipe b/c it freezes well. My husband loves this soup! Thanks for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bake24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Personally, I thought that the rosemary did not compliment the soup much, and the whole thing could use some more flavor. But, we ate it, and that's what counts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I've made this twice now and both times it turned out fantastic. It's a very forgiving recipe too-one time I didn't have leeks, rosemary, bacon or carrots so I just used extra onion, oregano and turkey sausage and it still turned out fantastic. The only problem I ran into was cook time-mine took over 2 and half hours to get to the consistency we like it at, but I also live at a high altitude which could be why it took so long to cook. Even if you don't think you like split pea soup you should give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msimps14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
So my daughter gave me a bag of split peas and I was like....ugh! Split pea soup is one of the few things I'm really not fond of. But I thought I'd give allrecipes a try and I'm glad I did. This was a great soup that the whole family liked. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I couldn't find fresh split peas at the market, so used frozen. I think fresh might be even better. I made it on the stovetop as the recipe called for, however, think the crockpot would be a great alternative. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Made this last night! So Good! YUMMMMM! Wish it had made more. Used low sodium bacon, no leeks on hand so I skipped them. Excellent flavor. I'm ready to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Norriton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
OMG! Sooooo delicious. I used 2 cans of roasted garlic chicken broth and then added 2 cups of water (I did't want to use my last can of broth) as well a a packet of chicken bouillon. I also added other herbs (dried): dill, cilantro and parsley as well as the rosemary. Great! Does not even need salt or any other spice. This will be in heavy rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Used turkey broth from oven bag cooked turkey. lean smoked ham (fully cooked). Onions, celery, carrots. Yellow split peas. Rosemary and marjoram Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Loved it. Took some others advise. Did add some frozen peas which was a good add. Also no leeks so used potatoes. Never made before & this was a keeper. Added a few spices here & there for a little flavor but that's just what I do to make it personal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Made this last night, it was delicious. Added more bay leaves and used the fresh rosemary. Took out the bacon after it got crisp and re-added it after the soup was done simmering. Will make again and again and will double the recipe. Thanks Cathy, spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States