Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was yummy. I used my left over ham and ham bone from my Easter ham instead of bacon, used low sodium chicken broth and it was delicious. After one hour of cooking, I removed the ham bone and bay leaves and put it in the blender on puree. I then added it back to the pan, added another 1 1/2 cups of broth, 1/2 teaspoon of liquid smoke and one cup of diced ham and heated through. Very tasty and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I used half the bacon and dried rosemary plus extra vegetables and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This was delicious! We are adding it to our family list of repeat recipes; we will make it again! I didn't have bacon on hand, so I used vegetable oil to fry the onions, leeks, etc. and I also added 6T. of store-bought bacon bits to this step. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This is the first time I've made split pea soup. Another reviewer remarked that it took a lot longer than 1hr 15 min to soften the peas. I agree, more like three hours. It could have had more rosemary. Just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was an easy recipe and my daughter who will not eat peas or leeks gobbled it up. The measurements of each ingred. was perfect and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Used celery instead of leeks and boullion cubes instead of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travinka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is SO GOOD! I cooked the bacon and then reserved it, because I hate rubbery bacon. Followed the directions with the exception that I didn't measure the rosermary, just eyeballed it (and was generous). After the one hour of simmering, the consistency was soft but with texture-very nice. I added the bacon back in and just gave a few bursts of my immersion blender to help chop the bacon and blend a tiny bit of peas. This soup was a hit with my kids and boyfriend, and I will make it a regular in my soup rotation. It's AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I have to say I was very skeptical of this recipe being that the cooking time was so much shorter than I'm used to in the crock pot!. i was craving split pea soup, and it was much too late to use the crock pot, so I tried this one! I loved it! The peas turned out perfectly cooked, and the flavor was just as I hoped it would be. The consistency was perfect, not too watery or thick. I didn't have leeks or bacon, and I was leery of using garlic, since I didn't want an overly garlic flavor. It was perfect for me! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is the PERFECT split pea soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeqJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Wow. this recipe is just as good as everyone said, if not even better! I didn't even add salt and pepper, just didn't need it. I also skipped the bay leaf since i don't cook with bay very often and I didn't want to buy it at the store. One note, the green split peas work dried. I wasn't sure if I needed to precook them or what since it doesn't specify, but I put them in dry and they turned out great. I let the soup simmer an extra hour too since i was busy around the house and the consistency was perfect. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States