Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
So Yummy! Added a ham bone too since I had one - bacon is great and fresh rosemary is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup! I used the ham bone in place of bacon as advised by RandyRandy. Instead of chopping my rosemary, I just grabbed a couple sprigs from the garden and threw them in the pot. I didn't have leeks and it still turned out delicious. If you like your pea soup on the thick side (as I do) I would recommend simmering closer to two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassycincy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colebrook, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Incredibly flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Incredibly delicious recipe!!!! Oh my goodness, the aroma will bring you to your knees, so be prepared for torture!!! I made seemingly minor changes, but significant in terms of final outcome. They are as follows: 4 slices of THICK SLICE bacon. I'm always a fan of thick slice anyway, but when you crisp it there's still a nice piece of meaty bacon left. As far as cooking the veggies in the bacon grease, I ladled out all but a 1-2 tbsp, which was more than adequate and cuts down on fat considerably. I only had 1 can of low sodium chix broth in the pantry, so I used that and completed the liquid requirement with simply water and 1 chicken bouillon cube. Still plently salty (remember there is bacon in here!!!) and this gives you the option to salt to taste when served. 1 clove of garlic instead of two. Just a personal preference. There are a lot of delightful flavors in this soup. Didn't want any one thing to take over!!! Served it with a rustic, whole grain bread and olive oil for dipping. Truly Heaven on Earth!!! The rosemary is amazing in it. DON'T USED DRIED OR OMIT!!! It's sooooooo worth spending a couple dolllars on. Bon apetit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I had leftover ham from Easter in the freezer, so I used that instead of the bacon. I followed the recipe exactly after that, and it turned out beautifully. I have tried one other split pea soup recipe and this one tops it. I would make croutons to go with this next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herriman, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was very, very good! I wasn't sure about adding rosemary to pea soup but am glad I did! It gave the soup a subtle flavor that was different from all other pea soups I have had. I did not have bacon but had a leftover ham bone which I used instead. Also used an onion instead of a leek. Though I subbed out 2 ingredients it was the rosemary that "made" this soup! Threw it all in the slow cooker for several hours - awesome on a chilly Wyoming evening (even if it WAS the middle of May! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debonweb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I make it without the bacon altogether and still love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was yummy. I used my left over ham and ham bone from my Easter ham instead of bacon, used low sodium chicken broth and it was delicious. After one hour of cooking, I removed the ham bone and bay leaves and put it in the blender on puree. I then added it back to the pan, added another 1 1/2 cups of broth, 1/2 teaspoon of liquid smoke and one cup of diced ham and heated through. Very tasty and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I used half the bacon and dried rosemary plus extra vegetables and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States