Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
i really love this recipe! i wouldn't change anything about it, except that i will double the recipe next time! there was not enough to go around!! i do have to say that depending on the bacon used, it can be pretty salty, so adjust according to taste. thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALULABELLE28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Burks Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is an AWESOME recipe. My husband and kids LOVE it! The only thing I do differently is to add apx. 1/2 cup half and half or heavy cream to thicken and make a little richer! AWESOME! Thanks Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I like split pea soup but sometimes I'm disappointed by how bland it is. The idea to add rosemary is fantastic to get a really nice flavor. I diced ham and browned it with rosemary and pepper before putting in into the soup. The house smelled divine afterward. One other thing - I used more carrots (3-4) and found that they made the soup rather sweet, so I had to salt a bit more at the end and add some more rosemary to balance it out. I also added a potato towards the end since the slow cooker kept all the moisture in and it was a little watery. Overall, it was delicious. Thanks for the rosemary tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and I have to admit I did not care for the smell of the soup as it was cooking. BUT I was pleasantly suprised when I tasted the finished product. I loved it! So tasty! I will def make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I doubled this recipe for leftovers and made it vegan. To help with the cost of the ingredients I used veggie boullion instead of broth-saves you a ton of money! Just follow the directions for the brand of boullin you bought. I also added salt and pepper to taste since it needed some seasoning. I left out the leek, because lets face it they're a pain to clean. I cooked for a little over an hour just so the soup became smoother, you really don't want the peas to have any bite left in them. This could also be very easily done in a crock pot on low for 8 hours. A tip when reheating: add a touch of water to help smooth it out. I always think its better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
The flavor is wonderful although the appearance leaves a bit to be desired...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nodak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Just love the flavor of rosemary in this soup! Since I am currently avoiding pork and red meat,I prepared this without the bacon. I kept everything else as written, just sauteed the veggies in a little olive oil first. I have made this several times since I discovered this recipe, a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was great! We don't eat meat so I left out the bacon and added extra onion and carrots. I added about a tablespoon of Chipotle Tabsco to add a little kick and used my immersion blender to puree most of it. I served it with grated parm on top. Definitely the best split pea soup I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Good stuff! I used a ham based bullion instead of chicken stock and dried rosemary since I didn't have fresh. I tried this in the slow cooker, to anyone as dumb as me dried peas are not like dried beans if you put them in the croc use low not high and still only like 4-5 hrs! I ended up with a paste, even after adding a can of evap milk, but still super awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Elizabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States