Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This was very good and although easy, a little time consuming. I should have read the reviews ahead of time, next time I will cut the water down by several cups. It's a little watery, but not bad. Also, to save on sodium, I used low-sodium chicken broth and for the bouillon, I used 3 regular cubes and 3 packets of low-sodium powder type. It came out perfectly. The recipe could definitely use more ham. Either use very meaty ham hocks or 1 very meaty ham bone, or just buy a thick slice from the meat dept., cut it up and add it in. Very good soup, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This is a fabulous recipe made even better by taking tips from a few of the reviewers who've already posted. Nice color, nice balance of flavors, very homey and comforting! I served this with some great crusty rolls and a nice green salad, and it was a HUGE hit even with my finicky teens. Here's what I did to "doctor" it up: First, I cut back by half on the water. Second, I added about a Tbsp or so each of fresh sage, thyme and parsley (toward the end of cooking) and maybe half that amount of dried marjoram (because I couldn't find any fresh). Third, instead of ham hocks which my family doesn't like (or need :-)), I bought some wonderful smoky ham at the deli counter, cubed it up and added about 1/2 lb of it right at the beginning of cooking, then used the remainder to garnish. I did add one chicken bouillon cube but used low sodium chicken broth and added no additional salt, and it came out nicely. Last, I added some nice-sized chunks of carrots and celery, and cut my potatoes into larger chunks too, to give the soup a more hearty flavor and appearance. One last tip -- This recipe makes a very large batch of soup, and I knew we would tire of it before it was eaten. So I froze half of it at the stage AFTER pureeing but BEFORE adding any milk. We'll enjoy it again one wintry evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEGALPEACH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
A word to the wise: ALWAYS READ REVIEW SUGGESTIONS before preparing a recipe. I made this recipe pretty much as instructed (I substituted a dash of cayenne for the red pepper flakes and substituted 1 tbsp "TASTEFULLY SIMPLE brand spinach & herb mix"...as it was the only thing on hand will dill in it). The recipe was way to watery for my family. I tried to salvage it by pureeing 3 cans of drained peas (it's all I had on hand) with a little of the broth and returned it to the pot. It was still watery so I thickened it with 1/2 c flour and 1 c water. This really increased the number of servings, so as not to dilute the flavor, I added 1/2 cup of TASTEFULLY SIMPLE product "Bacon Bacon" (dried, seasoned bacon bits). The flavor of the soup was great... my 5 year old ate 3 bowls! I froze the remainder in single serving portions using a vacuum sealer system and will have soup for weeks to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I followed this recipe just as it was, it is wonderful, we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Delicious soup a real hit in our house. i make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
As much as I love split pea soup, I hardly ever make it because the recipe I have, although delicious, is very time consuming. I found this to be very good and so quick and easy. I cut the water to 4 cups and would recommend using low sodium chicken broth, as the chicken bouillion powder is very salty. I will make this again (and soon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
this recipe is wonderful. i have made it several times since i found it and my whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Thanks to the reviewers, I started off by cutting the water in half. Was glad I did since we prefer hearty soups. Highly suggest smoked ham hocks. Other additions include an extra pound of smoked ham, 3 stalks celery, 3 carrots, garlic powder, fresh parsley, thyme, marjoram, and sage. Thank you so much for this recipe! I have finally outperformed the legendary mother-in-law. Update: Freezing works on this soup, but I've recently decided I prefer halving the recipe so we can eat all of it fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I made a few changes: used yellow split peas instead of green and added 3/4 cup more peas for a thicker soup. For a lower fat version, I cut up 3 thick slices of lean smoked ham instead of using ham hocks. I also used low sodium chicken broth and bit more hot sauce. My favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States