Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Very good. The soy sauce kinda threw us off when we were cooking, but it was a great addition. We used french lentils instead of split peas. And added celery and carrots. No need to blend if you like a chunkier soup/stew. It was delicious on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I did not change a thing, but now I am going to use my Xmas Ham bone and see what happens. But those who go "yuck" at pea soup...loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Really good. I deleted the whole milk to save calories. There was enough liquid without it. I added a slice of ham which made it really meaty though the meat from the ham hocks tasted better. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Very very good! I cut the recipe in half (8 servings) and used a disappointingly meatless hamhock - next time I'll try a thick slab of smoked pork. I did add celery and carrots and let the soup simmer for two hours or so; there was no need to puree as all the vegetables cooked down nicely. The addition of the hot pepper sauce, crushed red peppers, and dill weed gave the soup a really nicely different taste from the run-of-the-mill split pea soup. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
My husband Loved this soup! I'm giving it 4 stars, because if you like food with a 'bite' to it, you'll probabley like this soup. It was a bit 'hot' for my taste (with crushed peppers & hot sauce). I liked the addition of potatoes. The only change I made in the recipe is that I only used 1/2 the water and 1/2 the milk--which made the consistency perfect for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This is a fantastic split pea soup recipe. I have shared the recipe with my friends, and they also think it is the best ever. I sometimes use more chicken broth instead of water, but that's the only change I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
Very tasty! And Great Flavor! I will make this again after we eat all that was frozen. I did half the water and still it was very watery. I did not puree or add any additional milk. I added a couple of spoonfuls of cornstarch to try and thicken it up a bit. It did seem to help. Next time I will reduce the water to less than half of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
Yum! Yum! Yum! This soup is awesome! We're soup lovers and enjoy trying new soups so I made this for my family and they loved it! My mother (who insisted that she wasn't a fan of split pea soup) literally looked me in the eye and said that this was THE best soup she had ever eaten (and mind you, we eat a LOT of soup). The only things I did different were to follow everyone's suggestions and half the water ( I also left out the potatoes because I had none); and add carrots and celery. But leave the pepper! It adds a great kick! Awesome awesome soup that I know I will be making again and again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
The hot pepper sauce and red pepper flakes give this soup terrific zing. I omitted the milk entirely (lactose intolerant). A really excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is a fabulous recipe. I think the additions such as dill weed, soy sauce and crushed red pepper give it a jazzy taste that is truly delicious. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chez stacey
Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States