Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Very good. The soy sauce kinda threw us off when we were cooking, but it was a great addition. We used french lentils instead of split peas. And added celery and carrots. No need to blend if you like a chunkier soup/stew. It was delicious on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I did not change a thing, but now I am going to use my Xmas Ham bone and see what happens. But those who go "yuck" at pea soup...loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Really good. I deleted the whole milk to save calories. There was enough liquid without it. I added a slice of ham which made it really meaty though the meat from the ham hocks tasted better. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Very very good! I cut the recipe in half (8 servings) and used a disappointingly meatless hamhock - next time I'll try a thick slab of smoked pork. I did add celery and carrots and let the soup simmer for two hours or so; there was no need to puree as all the vegetables cooked down nicely. The addition of the hot pepper sauce, crushed red peppers, and dill weed gave the soup a really nicely different taste from the run-of-the-mill split pea soup. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
My husband Loved this soup! I'm giving it 4 stars, because if you like food with a 'bite' to it, you'll probabley like this soup. It was a bit 'hot' for my taste (with crushed peppers & hot sauce). I liked the addition of potatoes. The only change I made in the recipe is that I only used 1/2 the water and 1/2 the milk--which made the consistency perfect for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This is a fantastic split pea soup recipe. I have shared the recipe with my friends, and they also think it is the best ever. I sometimes use more chicken broth instead of water, but that's the only change I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
Very tasty! And Great Flavor! I will make this again after we eat all that was frozen. I did half the water and still it was very watery. I did not puree or add any additional milk. I added a couple of spoonfuls of cornstarch to try and thicken it up a bit. It did seem to help. Next time I will reduce the water to less than half of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
Yum! Yum! Yum! This soup is awesome! We're soup lovers and enjoy trying new soups so I made this for my family and they loved it! My mother (who insisted that she wasn't a fan of split pea soup) literally looked me in the eye and said that this was THE best soup she had ever eaten (and mind you, we eat a LOT of soup). The only things I did different were to follow everyone's suggestions and half the water ( I also left out the potatoes because I had none); and add carrots and celery. But leave the pepper! It adds a great kick! Awesome awesome soup that I know I will be making again and again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
The hot pepper sauce and red pepper flakes give this soup terrific zing. I omitted the milk entirely (lactose intolerant). A really excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is a fabulous recipe. I think the additions such as dill weed, soy sauce and crushed red pepper give it a jazzy taste that is truly delicious. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chez stacey
Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States