Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Yum! I didn't add all of the water and added 1 cup of orzo the last 15 minutes instead of potatoe. But otherwise a very tasty and filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
If I rated this soup on flavor alone it would get 5 stars +, but...I cut the water by half and it was too thin. Though I was dismayed with the watery consistency, I was delighted with the overall blending of the ingredients flavors. I used a meaty ham bone from New Years dinner, added celery and carrots. For hot sauce I used Cholula because the heat doesn't dominate the wonderful flavor of this hot sauce. I simmered the soup for a couple hours then put it in fridge overnight. Next day I cooked it down until right consistency for us. I didn't puree part of the soup which is probably a step that does help to thicken it. We enjoy the less smooth texture of split pea soup but I may try the puree thing next time. This soup is so good that there will be next times. It's well worth the little effort to correct the consistency to our likings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This soup was great. I increased the split peas by 50%, added an extra potato to make it more hearty and omitted the milk to save on calories. Everyone in my family liked it which doesn't happen as often as I'd like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
My husband and I love this soup! I make it in huge batches to take to work and everyone who's tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This was so yummy, it had way to much dill for my families liking but easily adapted. I added carrots which was great. This was a scrupcious alternative to the ham soup I usually make with the left over eater ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
We really liked it. We love pea soup anyway. I didn't add all the water and added none of the milk. We wanted a thick soup. I also went without the potatoes to save on carbs. Very good none the less. No one would have guessed that it had the soy sauce and the pepper flakes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This was much better than I had expected. The kick made all the difference. I did cut the recipe in half and then halved the milk again. I made it in the pressure cooker, so I had no need to puree the soup. I used a meaty ham bone instead of the ham hocks and ground black pepper instead of the white. Can't wait to see how this soup freezes. TFS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Very good. The soy sauce kinda threw us off when we were cooking, but it was a great addition. We used french lentils instead of split peas. And added celery and carrots. No need to blend if you like a chunkier soup/stew. It was delicious on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I did not change a thing, but now I am going to use my Xmas Ham bone and see what happens. But those who go "yuck" at pea soup...loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States