Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Deff. read the reviews before you start. I also used about 1/2 the water and added rice towards the end. Could have used a bit more pepper flakes or hot pepper sauce, but it was delich!! Hubby raved about it. I also cooked it in a crock pot for about 6 hours (high to start, then on low for about 4 hours). I threw in some leftover turkey from Thanksgiving too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M&M in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Like everyone else, I cut the water in half and still found the soup to be far too watery and had to cook until the soup had reduced. However, the flavors were excellent and I will make this again but this time without any water at all. I wonder if there is a typo with the quantities. It calls for 2 cups of split peas which seems far too little with 16 cups of liquid. I noticed my standard bag of split peas was 2 pounds, not 2 cups, and this would have made the ratio about right since even the cooking directions on the bag say to add 6-8 cups water for each POUND. Anyway, next time I'll either make 2 pounds worth or cut the total liquids (broth, water & milk) in half while keeping the other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I followed the recommendations that others have left (i.e. I used half the water and added celery, carrots, and a bunch of fresh herbs - rosemary, thyme, oregano, and sage all tied together). I didn't have the hot chili oil or the dill so ommitted those ingredients too. This soup was delicious. I never write reviews, but this soup inspired me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Overall, this had a nice flavor, but I have to say I was a bit disappointed. It didn't thicken nearly as much as I thought it would. Use much water. It was also a bit too dilly for me, and I love dill. I'd cut the dill by half, but I don't think we'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This was very good! It is a wonderful recipe, but I think it's one of those that will be tweeked for one's own taste. I used all the chicken broth called for in the recipe, but only a cup or two of water. I added a half cup of cream in place of the milk. I increased the hot sauce and red pepper flakes by two or three times and I used my hand held blender to puree the peas along the bottom of the pan for a minute or two. Although I used the bone from my Easter ham, I think I will add a little liquid smoke next time. Thankyou! thankyou! for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Dill isn't something I would have thought of but it really adds a wonderful flavour to this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Family favorite! I leave it chunky, omitting the blender. My little ones love it too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
exceptionally tasty soup, highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOSSUM79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Yum! I didn't add all of the water and added 1 cup of orzo the last 15 minutes instead of potatoe. But otherwise a very tasty and filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
If I rated this soup on flavor alone it would get 5 stars +, but...I cut the water by half and it was too thin. Though I was dismayed with the watery consistency, I was delighted with the overall blending of the ingredients flavors. I used a meaty ham bone from New Years dinner, added celery and carrots. For hot sauce I used Cholula because the heat doesn't dominate the wonderful flavor of this hot sauce. I simmered the soup for a couple hours then put it in fridge overnight. Next day I cooked it down until right consistency for us. I didn't puree part of the soup which is probably a step that does help to thicken it. We enjoy the less smooth texture of split pea soup but I may try the puree thing next time. This soup is so good that there will be next times. It's well worth the little effort to correct the consistency to our likings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States